Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Ka'Deem Carey
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: July 08, 2013
Related Links

TUCSON, Ariz. Two members of the Arizona football team found their names on national award watch lists on Monday, released by the Maxwell Football Club. Additionally, more Wildcats have earned spots on preseason awards lists.

Junior running back Ka’Deem Carey was one of 76 players and one of 28 running backs named to the 2013 Maxwell Player of the Year Award Watch List. He was one of 15 Pac-12 players recognized. Carey was the nation's leading rusher in yards per game (148.4) and total yards (1,929) in 2012. He broke Trung Canidate's single-season school-record rushing mark of 1,602 yards from 1999 in the first quarter of the Arizona State game on Nov. 23. Against Colorado on Nov. 10, he broke the Pac-12 and UA single-game rushing records with 366 yards on the ground. His 1,929 yards rank No. 5 in Pac-12 single-season history.

Senior linebacker Jake Fischer was one of 75 players and one of 25 linebackers named to the Bednarik Award Watch List. He was one of 13 Pac-12 defenders recognized. Fischer started and played in 13 games at middle linebacker in 2012. He was All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention, CoSIDA Academic All-District and Pac-12 First-Team All-Academic. He was the Wildcat team leader in tackles with 119 (76 solo and 43 assisted) and averaged 9.15 tackles per game. Fischer had career-high 14 tackles in the 59-38 win over No. 18 Oklahoma State on Sept. 8.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell’s contributions to the game of football were extensive, including as a player, a sportswriter and an official. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of 1969 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of 1967.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 18. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014

Carey was named to Athlon Sports’ 2013 Preseason All-America Team as a first-team running back. He’s also on the College Football Performance Awards All-Purpose Performer of the Year Award Watch List. Senior cornerback and special teams contributor Richard Morrison was named to the College Football Performance Awards Punt Returner Award Watch List.

Tickets for the 2013 football season are available and can be purchased by visiting the McKale Center Ticket Office, calling 520-621-CATS or by visiting For continued coverage of Arizona football, follow the team on Facebook at and Twitter @ArizonaFBall and visit

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets