Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Morgan Struble
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Track and Field Hosts Jim Click Shootout
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 08, 2014

Tucson, Ariz.The University of Arizona Wildcat No. 17 men’s and No. 11 women’s track and field teams will host the Jim Click Combined Events and Jim Click Shootout this weekend. Roy P. Drachman Stadium will play host to the combined events on Thursday and Friday while the main portion of the meet will take place on Saturday. Saturday’s meet will be scored using championship scoring (10-8-6-4-2-1). If any team has athletes that compete in the combined events, they will be scored and factored into the final score of the competition. At the 2013 Jim Click Shootout, the UA women won while the men’s team took fourth place. Admission for Saturday’s competition is $8 adult/$5 senior, youth & UA student when purchased in advance; $10 adult/$7 senior, youth & UA student day-of-event and the meet program costs $5.


Arizona will compete against Air Force, Kansas State, New Mexico and Washington State on Saturday.


The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association (USTFCCCA) released the week one rankings for the 2014 outdoor season on April 8. The men’s team is ranked 17th and the women are ranked 11th. In the men’s rankings, Oregon is second, USC is 12th, UCLA is 15th and California is 23rd. On the women’s side, Oregon is No. 4, USC is No. 7, UCLA is No. 12, Washington is No. 16, Stanford is No. 18 and Arizona is No. 21.


The Wildcats will have senior Amber Passalaqua and freshman Aleah Hurst compete in the women’s heptathlon on Thursday and Friday. In the men’s decathlon, freshman Avery Mickens, sophomore Harry Zimmerman and redshirt sophomore Harrison Ivie will represent Arizona. The heptathlon will begin on Thursday at 12 p.m. with the 100-meter hurdles. The decathlon is set to start at 11a.m. MST with the 100-meter sprint. Friday’s heptathlon will begin at 11 a.m. while the decathlon is set to start at 10 a.m.


On Saturday for the women’s team on the track, freshman Aaliyah Haggard, freshman Jasmin Pratt, freshman Rachel Johns and senior Germe Poston will compete in the 100-meter dash at 1:50 p.m. Haggard, Poston, Pratt, freshman Alex Gilbert, freshman Jasper Gray, sophomore Gia Trevisan and senior Shapri Romero will run the 200-meter sprint at 2:45 p.m. Gilbert, Gray, Romero, Trevisan, freshman Lizzie Smith and senior Tamara Pridgett will run the 400-meter race at 1:40 p.m. Senior Taylor Cole, senior Meg Bellino and sophomore Kate Penney will run the 800 meters at 2 p.m. In the women’s 1,500-meter race, senior Erin Menefee, sophomore Clea Formaz and freshman McKenna Gaffney will race at 1:07 p.m. At 1:25 p.m., sophomores Morgan Struble and Traci-Lynn Hicks will compete in the 100-meter hurdles. Struble and sophomore Nnenya Hailey will run the 400-meter hurdles at 2:25 p.m. For the 4x100-meter relay, Pridgett, Romero, Hicks and Poston will represent Arizona at 12:57 p.m. In the women’s 4x400-meter relay, Arizona’s “A” team consists of Hailey, Gray, Pridgett and Romero. The “B” team is Smith, Gilbert, Trevisan and Struble. Poston, Bellino, Haggard and Pratt make up the “C” team.


For the women’s field events, junior Shakayla McEaddy will high jump at 12:30 p.m. Freshmen Savannah Whitehead and Myriah Sujansky will pole vault at 11:30 a.m. Hurst, Hicks and sophomore Ali Rodseth will long jump at 12 p.m. Rodseth will also triple jump at 2 p.m. Seniors Julie Labonte and Omotayo Talabi will compete in the shot put at 2:30 p.m. Labonte will also throw the discus at 1 p.m.


On the track for the UA men, freshman John Kane, freshman Andrew Berman, sophomore Harry Zimmerman and junior Mohammad Alhasan will run the 100 meters at 1:55 p.m. At 2:52 p.m., the 200-meter race will begin featuring Wildcats Berman, Kane, Alhasan, freshman Charles Hodges, freshman Miles Parish and freshman James Berkley. The 400 meters will begin at 1:45 p.m. with Hodges, Parish and freshman Bryce Houston. Junior Sam Macaluso and sophomore Sam Willis will compete in the 800 meters at 2:10 p.m. Junior Kenji Bierig, sophomore Jonas Legernes, redshirt sophomore Thomas Valente and sophomore Dylan Hopper will run the 1,500-meter race at 1:13 p.m. Willis will also run the 3K at 3:15 p.m. Senior Darien McKinley is set to run the 110-meter hurdles at 1:33 p.m. Junior Neil Houlihan will compete in the 400-meter hurdles at 2:35 p.m. Freshman Travis Thorne will run the 3,000-meter steeplechase at 12:42 p.m. The men’s 4x100-meter relay team of Mickens, Alhasan, Kane and Houston will run at 1:02 p.m. The 4x400-meter relay team will consist of Houston, Houlihan, Hodges and Parish. They will run at 3:35 p.m.


For the field events on the men’s side, sophomore Ryan Tomlinson, senior Nick Ross and former Wildcat Edgar Rivera-Morales will compete in the high jump at 2:30 p.m. Alhasan, Mickens and Zimmerman will long jump at 12 p.m. Junior Jovon Cunningham will triple jump at 2 p.m. Freshman Aaron Castle, freshman Jordan Young and junior Daniel Whitham are entered in the shot put competition at 1 p.m. In the discus competition set for 2:15 p.m., UA has entered Castle and Young. Young and Whitham will throw the hammer at 11 a.m.


The Bowerman: Lawi Lalang moved past Florida’s Jeff Demps to became the all-time leader in career Men’s The Bowerman Watch List appearances with 20 in its Post-NCAA Indoor Championships edition. It was released by the USTFCCCA on March 19.


Oregon Pepsi Dual (April 5): The Wildcats competed at Historic Hayward Field in a dual meet against the Ducks on April 5 at the Pepsi Oregon Dual. The men’s team and women’s team both fell to the Ducks. Avery Mickens posted the 13th-best long jump mark in the country at 24-11.25 (7.60m, 3.4 wind), good for first place overall. Nick Ross won the men’s high jump competition with a clearance of 7-1.5 (2.17m), the No. 12 clearance in the country this year. The impressive thing about that clearance, is that he accomplished it from a six-step approach, his normal approach is 10 steps. Redshirt sophomore Kate Penney had a time 4:20.32 in the women’s 1,500-meter race, the No. 11 time in the country this year. Penney’s time is also the sixth-best mark in school history.


For continued coverage of Arizona Wildcat men’s and women’s track and field, visit and follow @ArizonaTrack on Twitter.