Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Avery Mickens
Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Track Cats Head to Pullman for Pac-12 Championships
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 15, 2014

Pullman, Wash.The University of Arizona Wildcat men’s and No. 12 women’s track and field teams are set to compete at the Pac-12 Championships in Pullman, Wash. The meet will take place on May 17-18 at Washington State’s Mooberry Track and Field Complex. At the 2013 Pac-12 Championships, the women’s squad earned a runner-up finish and the men finished in seventh place overall. Heading into the weekend, the women’s team already has six points thanks to senior heptathlete Amber Passalaqua while the men have two points due to sophomore decathlete Harrison Ivie’s work last weekend.


Arizona will compete against Arizona State, California, Colorado, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Utah, Washington and Washington State.


The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association (USTFCCCA) released the week six rankings for the 2014 outdoor season on May 13. The men’s team is no longer ranked and the women are ranked 12th. In the men’s rankings, Oregon is third, UCLA is 12th, USC is 15th and Stanford is 22nd. On the women’s side, Oregon is No. 3, Stanford is No. 10, USC is No. 11, Arizona State is No. 17 and Colorado is No. 24.


For the men’s field events on Saturday, Arizona will begin the day with redshirt freshman Jordan Young in the hammer throw competition at 12 p.m. MST. At 3:30 p.m. MST, redshirt senior Nick Ross and freshman Avery Mickens will long jump. Ivie will compete in the javelin competition at 4 p.m. Young, redshirt freshman Aaron Castle and junior Daniel Whitham will throw the shot put at 4 p.m.


On the track on Saturday for the men, the preliminary round of the men’s 4x100-meter relay will begin at 1 p.m. with the Wildcats running Mickens, junior Mohammad Alhasan, freshman John Kane and freshman Bryce Houston. Senior Lawi Lalang, freshman Collins Kibet and sophomore Sam Willis will represent the Wildcats in the preliminary round of the 1,500-meter race at 1:40 p.m. At 2:50 p.m., Houston and freshman Miles Parish will compete in the preliminary round of the 400 meters. Alhasan will also compete in the 100-meter dash preliminary round at 3:20 p.m. Kibet will run in the preliminary 800-meter race as well at 3:50 p.m. Junior Kenji Bierig and sophomore Thomas Valente will run in the 3,00-meter steeplechase final at 4:25 p.m. Junior Neil Houlihan will run the 400-meter hurdles preliminary at 5 p.m. At 5:30 p.m., Alhasan will run in the preliminary round of the 200-meter dash.


For the women’s field events on Saturday, sophomore Ali Rodseth, freshman Aleah Hurst and senior Amber Passalaqua will compete in the long jump at 12 p.m. At 1:15 p.m., redshirt seniors Julie Labonte and Omotayo Talabi will compete in the shot put. Junior Shakayla McEaddy will high jump at 2 p.m.


On the track on Saturday, senior Tamara Pridgett, senior Shapri Romero, sophomore Traci-Lynn Hicks and senior Germe Poston will compete in the preliminary round of the 4x100-meter relay at 1 p.m. Redshirt sophomore Kate Penney will compete in the preliminary round of the 1,500 meters at 1:25 p.m. In the 100-meter hurdles at 1:55 p.m., Arizona will be represented by Hicks, Passalaqua, sophomore Nnenya Hailey and sophomore Morgan Struble. In the preliminary round of the 400-meter race, Romero, freshman Jasper Gray and sophomore Gia Trevisan will run for Arizona at 2:35 p.m. Poston, Pridgett and freshman Rachel Johns will run the preliminary 100-meter race at 3:05 p.m. Senior Meg Bellino’s preliminary 800-meter race is set for 3:35 p.m. In the final of the 3,000-meter steeplechase at 4:05 p.m., senior Erin Menefee and junior Clea Formaz will look to score for the Wildcats. Struble and Hailey will return to the track at 4:45 p.m. for the final of the 400-meter hurdles. Romero, Poston, and Johns will compete in the preliminary round of the 200-meter sprint at 5:15 p.m. In the final race of the day for Arizona, redshirt junior Elvin Kibet, junior Stephanie Bulder and senior Amanda Russell will compete in the 10K at 5:45 p.m.


On the track on Sunday, Kibet, Bulder, Menefee, junior Molly Callahan and redshirt sophomore Nicci Corbin will compete in the 5K final at 3:55 p.m. In the men’s 5K, Lalang and junior Sam Macaluso will run for Arizona at 4:20 p.m. The women’s 4x400-meter relay final is set for 4:45 p.m. featuring Hailey, Gray, Pridgett and Romero with Trevisan and Struble as alternates. On the men’s side, Arizona will run Parish, Alhasan, Houlihan and Houston with Mickens as an alternate at 5 p.m.


On Sunday for the men’s field events, freshman Gerhard De Beer, Castle and Young will throw the discus at 11:30 a.m. Ross will high jump at 2 p.m. and also compete in the triple jump at 2:30 p.m. For the women’s field events on Sunday, Rodseth will triple jump at 11:30 a.m. Freshman Myriah Sujansky will pole vault at 1 p.m. Labonté will also compete in the discus at 2:30 p.m.


At the Pac-12 Championships Combined Events last weekend, Passalaqua earned all-conference honors in the heptathlon for the third-straight year. Her personal-best score of 5,313 is tied for the eighth-best score in UA history and was good for third place overall. Ivie took seventh place in the decathlon, the first All-Pac-12 accolades of his career. He had a personal-best score of 6,921.


Lawi Lalang is the All-time Men’s Watch List appearance leader for The Bowerman with 22, including six this season. His is Arizona’s 24th appearance on the Men’s Watch List, second as a program only to Florida’s 63. Nick Ross returned to the “Also Receiving Votes” List. It was announced on Wednesday, May 7.


Along with fellow returning The Bowerman Finalist Julian Wruck of UCLA, he will attempt to become just the second male student-athlete to repeat as a Finalist. The other, Ashton Eaton of Oregon, won The Bowerman in his second appearance in 2010.


The Wildcats had three student-athletes earn Pac-12 Athlete of the Week honors on four occasions this year. Julie Labonté was named Pac-12 Women’s Field Athlete of the Week on April 1 and April 15. Avery Mickens claimed Pac-12 Men’s Field Athlete of the Week on April 8. Nick Ross earned the same honor as Mickens on April 15.


For continued coverage of Arizona Wildcat men’s and women’s track and field, visit and follow @ArizonaTrack on Twitter. Liver results will be available at