Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcat Women Swimmers Head to Long Beach Seeking First-Ever Pac-10 Title
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: February 22, 2000
Related Links
Women's and Men's Diving Championships Held at USC

This Week's Schedule: This Thursday, Feb. 24 through Saturday, Feb. 26, the Arizona women's team, ranked No. 2 in the country, will participate in the 2000 Pac-10 Conference Championships at the Belmont Plaza Olympic Pool in Long Beach, Calif. Arizona will also be the host school for the meet, in which 250 athletes are scheduled to compete. All races will be contested in short-course yards.

Along with the Wildcats, the participants include Arizona State, California, Oregon State, Southern California, Stanford, UCLA, Washington and Washington State.

The Conference of Champions: The 2000 Pac-10 Championships feature some of the top teams in the country... Spots two through five are occupied by Pac-10 squads in the latest CSCAA Top-25 - No. 2 ARIZONA, No. 3 STANFORD, No. 4 CALIFORNIA, and No. 5 USC. Also appearing are No. 11 UCLA and NO. 18 ARIZONA STATE, and WASHINGTON STATE received votes.

In all, five 1999 individual Pac-10 champions are back to defend their six crowns They are Stanford's Catherine Fox (50 free) and Misty Hyman (100 fly, 200 fly), Cal's Waen Minpraphal (400 IM), Arizona senior Trina Jackson (1650 free), and UCLA's Keiko Price (100 free)... Two NCAA individual champions will take the pool at Pac-10s Stanford's Misty Hyman (100 fly) and Catherine Fox (50 free) won NCAA titles in 1999.

Last year marked the first time in eight years a Pac-10 team did not come home with the NCAA Women's Swimming Championship. Conference teams did, however, finish in four of the top-six spots with Stanford leading the way as the runner-up. Arizona finished 4th, followed by California (5th), and USC (6th).

At the 1999 Pac-10s Stanford claimed the championship with 1,533.0 points. Cardinal women have also won 13 consecutive team conference titles - every Pac-10 crown since the inception of the women's championship in 1987.

Wildcat Swimming Notes: Arizona comes into the competition as the No. 2 team in the nation for the second consecutive season. Leading the way for Frank Busch's Cats is Jackson and a couple of freshmen Olympic medalists. Jackson, a three-time NCAA champion, is the defending Conference champ in the 1650 free. She currently has the nation's fourth-fastest time in the 1650 free and the top time in the 500 free, which she won two years ago at the Pac-10 Championships.

Sophomore Sarah Tolar has the top times in the NCAA this season in both the 100 free and the 200 free. Tolar finished sixth in the 500 free at last year's Pac-10s.

Arizona sports the Olympic freshman duo of Beth Botsford and Amanda Beard. Botsford was a double gold-medalist at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta. She has the nation's best times in the 100 and 200 backstroke. Beard won a gold and two silver medals at the '96 Games. This season, she has the top time in the nation in the 100 breaststroke and third-best marks in the 200 breaststroke and 200 individual medley.

Other individuals that should score points are sophomore Jenny Vanker (50 free, 100 free, 200 free), senior Denali Knapp (50 free, 100 free, 100 back, 200 back), and sophomore Jessamyn Miller (100 breast, 200 breast). The Wildcats also hold the best times this year in the 200 medley relay and the 200 freestyle relay, and are defending national champions in the 400 freestyle relay.

Pac-10 Diving: Teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, UCLA, USC and WASHINGTON will compete for the 2000 Pac-10 Men's Diving Championships and teams from ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON STATE, STANFORD, UCLA, USC, WASHINGTON and WASHINGTON STATE will compete for the 2000 Pac-10 Women's Diving Championships. Both diving championships will take place at the McDonalds Swim Stadium on the campus of the University of Southern California.


Thu., Feb. 24
10 a.m. Women's One Meter Preliminaries
followed by Men's Three Meter Preliminaries
2 p.m. Women's One Meter Finals
followed by Men's Three Meter Finals

Fri., Feb. 25
10 a.m. Men's One Meter Preliminaries
followed by Women's Three Meter Preliminaries
2 p.m. Men's One Meter Finals
followed by Women's Three Meter Finals

Sat., Feb. 26
10 a.m. Men's Platform
followed by Women's Platform
Margo Geer P12 WOTY