Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Sixteen Football Players Earn Academic Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 09, 2001
Related Links
TUCSON--Sixteen Wildcat football players were to be cited for 2000 Mary Roby Academic Achievement Awards at luncheon ceremonies April 9.

The achievement awards are an integral part of the UA's intercollegiate athletics program and were first established in 1977 as the Golden Eagle Awards, founded by the late William M. Clements.

The award was renamed in honor of the UA's first women director of athletics, Dr. Mary Pavlich Roby, in 1992.

The award is presented to student-athletes who maintain a 3.0 or greater grade point average for consecutive spring and fall semesters, or to first-year students who achieve the mark in their initial semetser.

Football players (and their majors) who earned the honor this year include:

Wyatt Arnold, freshman TE, architecture, Tucson, Ariz.

Austin Bates, junior WR, business, Tucson, Ariz.

Nathan Campbell, senior LS, operations management, Tucson, Ariz.

Ben Dalmolin, freshman LB, undeclared, Globe, Ariz.

David Floyd, graduate OG, geography, Peoria, Ariz.

Gens Goodman, sophomore DB, chemistry, Tucson, Ariz.

Aaron Higginbotham, junior OL, geosciences, Calimesa, Calif.

Justin Jochum, freshman DB, mechanical engineering, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Jason Johnson, junior QB, business management, Puyallup, Wash.

Sean Keel, junior PK, general biology, Littleton, Colo.

Michael LaCoss, junior LB, health education, Tucson, Ariz.

Malosi Leonard, senior WR, business management, Agua Dulce, Calif.

Lee Patterson, sophomore DB, business, Peoria, Ariz.

Ramiro Peru, sophomore P, business management, Chandler, Ariz.

John Rattay, freshman QB, undeclared, Phoenix, Ariz.

Eli Wnek, senior DE, sociology, Glendale, Ariz.

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets