Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Northcutt Named Team MVP At Football Team Banquet
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 05, 1999
Related Links
TUCSON--Senior wide receiver and kick returner Dennis Northcutt (Los Angeles) won the University of Arizona's Damon Terrell Memorial MVP Award at annual football banquet ceremonies here Sunday night, and also walked off with several other honors.

Northcutt, who became the UA's all-time leading receiver, receiving yards leader and all-purpose yardage leader this season, also was named winner of the Wildcat of the Year award for the most winning performances, and shared in the team's Bronko Nagurski honor as one of the team's outstanding two-way players. He led the nation in punt returns with an 18.96 average, returned kickoffs and played in several games as a cornerback.

Sophomore Eli Wnek (Glendale, Ariz.) split the Nagurski award with Northcutt. Wnek played H-back, tight end and defensive end for the Cats in 1999.

Two juniors center Bruce Wiggins (Houston) and defensive tackle Joe Tafoya (Pittsburg, Calif.) were named winners of the Martin Gentry Awards for outstanding performance by linemen.

Senior quarterback Keith Smith (Newbury Park, Calif.), Northcutt, senior linebacker Marcus Bell (St. Johns, Ariz.) and senior linebacker DaShon Polk (Pacoima, Calif.) were honored as the Wildcats' elected co-captains representing the offense, special teams and defense, respectively.

Senior defensive back Derek Hall (Crestwood, Ill.) Won the Ball Hawk award (encouraging ball security in practices) for the fourth consecutive year.

The Champion Awards for outstanding scout team players went to redshirt freshman wide receiver Gary Love (Los Angeles) and redshirt sophomore safety Brandon Nash (Los Angeles). Redshirt freshman quarterback Jason Johnson (Puyallup, Wash.) and senior defensive back Luis Campos (Loomis, Calif.) won the team's Undergraduate Scholarship and Jim Ewing Awards for maintaining the team's best grade averages for underclassmen and seniors.

Offensive players selected to the Bear Down Club for outstanding seasons included senior tailback Trung Canidate (Phoenix), sophomore offensive guard Steven Grace (Honolulu), Smith, junior tight end Brandon Manumaleuna (Torrance, Calif.), Northcutt and Wiggins.

Defensive Bear Down Club players included Bell, senior safety Greg Payne Jr. (Los Osos, Calif.) and Tafoya.

Junior linebacker Adrian Koch (Tucson), Northcutt, junior linebacker Antonio Pierce (Ontario, Calif.), senior linebacker Scooter Sprotte (Lakeside, Ariz.), redshirt freshman safety Jarvie Worcester (La Jolla, Calif.), Bell, sophomore receiver Peter Hansen (Palo Alto, Calif.), senior defensive tackle J.J. Joppru (Minnetonka, Minn.), Polk and Wnek earned Bear Down Club special teams honors.

#OurHouse Mini-Plans
#OurHouse Rocks Slider
Football vs BYU Tickets