Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Volleyball Places Two On AVCA All-Region Team
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 06, 2000
Related Links
TUCSON, Ariz.- For the second consecutive year, the Arizona volleyball program placed two players on the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Region team. Junior setter Dana Burkholder and senior middle blocker Marisa DaLee were named to the All-Pacific Region team, the AVCA announced Wednesday. It is the second straight season the pair have been named to the postseason team.

Arizona joined UCLA, USC and Loyal Marymount in placing two student-athletes on the team. Arizona has had eight players named 12 times to all-region teams in its history.

Burkholder, who needs only 12 more assists to move into first place on Arizona's single-season list, led the Pac-10 Co-Champion Wildcats to a historic season. The Conference Player of the Year finished the regular season averaging 13.69 assists per game for a Wildcat team that hit .320 for the season. She also tallied 288 digs in the 29 regular season matches and hit an impressive .360. Against nationally ranked teams (AVCA top 25 teams) this season she averaged a 14.24 apg and 2.76 digs per game.

DaLee, top five in the NCAA in hitting percentage all year, finished her final collegiate regular season with an Arizona single-season best .422 attack percentage. She recorded 355 kills on 661attempts while committing only 76 errors all season. DaLee led the team with 112 total blocks, of which 21 were solos, second among the Wildcats. Against nationally ranked teams, she hit .381 in 46 games.

The Wildcats' season will continue Friday as they take on Brigham Young in the Central Region semifinals in Lincoln, Neb.

2000 AVCA All-Pacific Region Team
Elisabeth Bachman *** UCLA MB Sr.
Amanda Burbridge ASU OH Sr.
Dana Burkholder ** Arizona S Jr.
Ynez Carrasco Santa Clara OH Sr.
Marisa DaLee ** Arizona MB Sr.
Jennifer Fopma Pepperdine MB So.
Sarah McFarland *** Loyola Marymount OH Sr.
Nicole Oehlman Loyola Marymount S Fr.
Jennifer Pahl USC MB Jr.
Kristee Porter *** UCLA OH Jr.
April Ross USC OH Fr.
Logan Tom Stanford OH So.

Arizona All-Region Team Members
All-Northwest Region
Kiyomi Morino
Terry Lauchner
Mary Linton
Kelly Waage
All-West Region
Terry Lauchner
Mary Linton
Laura Bartsch (Second Team)
Charita Johnson (Second Team)
All-District 8
Dana Burkholder
Marisa DaLee
All-Pacific Region
Dana Burkholder
Marisa DaLee