Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Neethling, Beeryman Earn Pac-10 Top Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: August 16, 1999
Related Links
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. (April 7) - Arizona junior Ryk Neethling was named the 1998-99 Pac-10 Conference Men's Swimmer of the Year and Wildcat sophomore Lindsay Berryman was named the 1998-99 Pacific-10 Conference Women's Co-Diver of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

Neethling, a 6-3 junior from Bloemfontein, South Africa, won individual NCAA Championships in the 200, 500 and 1,650-yard freestyle events in Indianapolis, Ind. With the wins, Neethling became only the eighth man in the 76-year history of the Championships to accomplish the double-triple (victories in three events in back-to-back seasons). His wins give him seven NCAA individual titles in three years. It was also the second straight year Neethling successfully defended his 1,650 crown. At the 1999 Pac-10 Swimming Championships in Long Beach, Calif., Neethling successfully defended his Conference titles in the 500 and 1,650 freestyle. It was the third consecutive year that he had won the 1,650 free.

This year marks the third year in a row Neethling has been named Pac-10 Swimmer of the Year. Only Dave Wharton of USC and Bill Barrett of UCLA have won the award three years in a row. Wharton garnered the honor four times (1988-91).

Berryman, a 5-9, sophomore from Phoenix, Ariz., finished third in the platform event at the Pac-10 Championships in Federal Way, Wash. Berryman also finished fourth in the 1-Meter and fifth in the 3-Meter events. She earned All-America honors at the 1999 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships in Athens, Ga., following a fifth place finish in the 1-Meter and an eighth place showing in the platform. Berryman is also a GTE academic All-America selection. The fall 1998 semester was her third-consecutive college semester with a 4.000 grade point average.

Berryman shares this year's honor with Stanford sophomore Kim Powers. It is the first time in Pacific-10 Conference history that there have been co-divers of the year.

The coaches from the conference's participating institutions in each sport vote on the Swimmer, Diver and Coach of the Year honors.

Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D