Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Lorena Ochoa Named Pac-10 Freshman Golfer Of The Year
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 01, 2001
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 1, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Arizona's Lorena Ochoa has been named Pac-10 Freshman Golfer of the Year and California coach Nancy McDaniel has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, in voting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches.

Fellow Arizona freshman Natalie Gulbis was also named to All-Pac-10 First Team, while junior Cristina Baena and sophomores Anne Lee and Laura Myerscough were named All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention.

Ochoa, from Guadalajara, Mexico, helped the Wildcats capture their second consecutive Pac-10 Championship. She outdueled fellow teammate, Natalie Gulbis, to win the individual title in two sudden-death playoff holes. Ochoa led the Wildcats with a final round of 69, the lowest individual round of the tournament by any golfer. The tournament win is the fourth of her career and seventh consecutive top-three finish.

Gulbis has won two tournament titles in her initial campaign with the Wildcats and currently owns a stroke average of 72.42. The Citrus Heights, Calif., native has finished in the top five in five of the seven tournaments she has competed in.

Natalie GulbisARIZFr.Sacramento, Calif.
Hilary HomeyerSTANSr.Edina, Minn.
Kelli KamimuraWASHJr.Burlington, Wash.
Stephanie KeeverSTANSr.Las Vegas, Nev.
Candie KungUSCSo.Monterey Park, Calif.
Lorena OchoaARIZFr.Guadalajara, Mexico
Leila ChartrandUSCJr.Victoria, B.C., Canada
Jimin KangASUFr.Edmonds, Wash.
Mikaela ParmlidUSCSo.Gothenburg, Sweden
Angela RhoSTANFr.Fullerton, Calif.
Jerilyn WhiteORESr.Salem, Ore.

Honorable Mention: Cristina Baena, Jr., ARIZ, Tasha Browner, Jr., WSU, Molly Cooper, Sr., ASU, Sarah Huarte, Fr., CAL, Vikki Laing, So., CAL, Anne Lee, So., ARIZ, Kim Kouwabunpat, Fr., STAN, Laura Myerscough, So., ARIZ, Melissa Martin, Fr., UCLA, Lisa Meredith, Jr., ASU, Anna Rawson, Fr., USC, Sake Uechi, So., UCLA, Gina Umeck, Fr., UCLA.

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Lorena Ochoa, Arizona
PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Nancy McDaniel, California