Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Men's Tennis Players Advance at the University of San Diego All-College Invitational
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 15, 2000
Related Links
SAN DIEGO (Oct. 15, 2000) -- Four University of Arizona men's tennis players advanced to the third round of competition at the University of San Diego All-College Invitational on Friday.

Freshman Whi Kim and Carl Hagman made it to the second round of flight one. In round one Kim defeated Greg Bjorkman of UC Irvine, 6-3, 4-6, 7-5 and then beat San Diego States Travis Hasson, 7-5, 7-5. Ranked No. 8 in the tournament, Hagman made it to the second round on a bye, overthrew Loyola Marymount's Beau Berglund, 6-2, 7-6.

Junior transfer Steven Capriati, ranked No. 2 in the tournament, also received a bye into round two and then earned a win against Leopold Graeubig of Loyola Marymount, 6-4, 7-6, in flight one. Junior Bruno Aropovic flew by Cal Poly's Ian Leopold, 6-0, 6-1, in round one and then earned a second win by beating Ted Burghardt of the University of San Diego, 6-2, 2-6, 6-4, in round two.

Sophomore Tom Lloyd defeated Matt Bere in the first round of flight one by a default, and fell in round two to San Diego's sixth-ranked Ricardo Rizzo, 6-3, 6-4.

Two of the four doubles teams for Arizona made it to the third round. Ranked third in the tournament, the duo of Capriati and Kim defeated Bourne and Burghardt of USD, 8-4, while Jackson and Niskala beat Capello and Fallon of Cal Poly, 8-6.

The Wildcats will continue round three of the tournament on Saturday, Oct. 14, at 9:30 a.m.

Flight One/Round One
Carl Hagman (UA)                                                Bye
Whi Kim (UA) def. Greg Bjorkman (UCI)                           6-3, 4-6, 7-5
Tom Lloyd (UA) def. Matt Bere (SDSU)                            Default
Steven Capriati (UA)                                            Bye

Flight Two/Round One
Ben Regin (USD) def. Jon Brozyna (UA)                           6-4, 4-6, 6-0
Dan Albrecht (UCSD) def. Dan Gabrys (UA)                        6-4, 6-4
Bruno Aropovic (UA) def. Ian Leopold (Cal Poly)                 6-0, 6-1
Stacy Meranoff (Cal Poly) def. Brian Jackson (UA)                       6-2, 6-3
Jari Niskala (UA)                                               Bye

Flight One/Round Two
Carl Hagman (UA) def. Beau Berglund (Loyola Marymount)          6-2, 7-6
Whi Kim (UA) def. Travis Hasson (SDSU)                          7-5, 7-5
Ricardo Rizo (USD) def. Tom Lloyd (UA)                          6-3, 6-4
Steven Capriati (UA) def. Leopold Graeubig (Loyola Marymount)   6-4, 7-6

Flight Two/Round Two
Michael Faust (UCSB) def. Jari Niskala (UA)                     6-3, 6-4
Bruno Aropovic (UA) def. Ted Burghardt (USD)                    6-2, 2-6, 6-4

Round One
Leopold/Tracy (Cal Poly) def. Aropovic/Brozyna (UA)             2-1, retired
Jackson/Niskala (UA)                                            Bye
Capriati/Kim (UA)                                               Bye
Lloyd/Hagman (UA)                                               Bye

Round Two
Jackson/Niskala (UA) def. Capello/Fallon (USD)                  8-6
Capriati/Kim (UA) def. Bourne/Burghardt (USD)                   8-4
Suarez/Rhodin (Point Loma Nazarene) def. Lloyd/Hagman (UA)      8-6
Bear Down Challenge M Ten