Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Arizona Men's Basketball Has Five Named to Preseason Top 50 List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: August 22, 2000
Related Links
(Aug. 2, 2000) -- The University of Arizona men's basketball team became the first group in the 25 year history of the John R. Wooden Award to have all five starters named to the preseason top 50 list. Senior Loren Woods, juniors Michael Wright and Richard Jefferson and sophomores Gilbert Arenas and Jason Gardner were all recognized among the top 50 players in the country by the John R. Wooden Award Committee. Woods, Wright and Gardner all received enough votes to make the Wooden's top 25 list. Jefferson and Arenas were part of the second 25.

The previous high for the preseason top 50 was three, accomplished by a number of schools. Duke placed four players in the top 50 this season.

The top 50 Candidates have been selected based on last year's individual performance and team records. Each year, players who were considered for the Top 25 have been selected to the All-American Team. In late December, the Wooden Award committee will release the Midseason Top 30 during a half-hour program on FOX Sports Net.

The poll was conducted of The John R. Wooden Award Committee to determine the Preseason Top 50 candidates for the 2000-2001 Wooden Award All-American Team. On March 27, 2001, the ten-player Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced. One member of the Wooden Award All-American Team will be selected on Friday April 6, 2001 as the recipient of the Wooden Award Trophy as the nation's "Most Outstanding Collegiate Basketball Player of the Year." The event will be a one hour telecast on FOX Sports Net.

2000-2001 John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50

GILBERT ARENAS		6'3"    So.     G       ARIZONA
Brandon Armstrong       6'5"    Jr.     G       Pepperdine 
Luke Axtell             6'9"    Sr.     F       Kansas 
Shane Battier *!        6'8"    Sr.     F       Duke 
Lonny Baxter *  	6'8"    Jr.     F       Maryland 
Charlie Bell *  	6'3"    Sr.     G       Michigan St. 
Keith Bogans            6'5"    So.     G       Kentucky 
Carlos Boozer *         6'9"    So.     F       Duke
Cory Bradford *         6'3"    Jr.     G       Illinois 
SirValiant Brown        6'1"    So.     G       George Washington 
Rasuel Butler   	6'7"    Jr.     F       La Salle 
Casey Calvary   	6'8"    Sr.     F       Gonzaga 
Jason Capel             6'7"    Jr.     F       North Carolina 
Eric Chenowith *        7'1"    Sr.     C       Kansas 
Jarron Collins *        6'10"   Sr.     F       Stanford 
Samuel Dalembert        6'11"   So.     C       Seton Hall 
Juan Dixon *            6'3"    Jr.     G       Maryland 
Mike Dunleavy   	6'8"    Jr.     F       Duke 
Joe Forte               6'3"    So.     G       North Carolina 
JASON GARDNER *         5'11"   So.     G       ARIZONA
Kenny Gregory   	6'5"    Sr.     F       Kansas 
Tony Harris *   	6'      Sr.     G       Tennessee 
Udonis Haslem *         6'7"    Jr.     C       Florida 
Brendan Haywood *       7'      Sr.     C       North Carolina 
Andre Hutson            6'8"    Sr.     F       Michigan State 
Casey Jacobsen *        6'6"    So.     F       Stanford 
RICHARD JEFFERSON       6'7"    Jr.     F       ARIZONA
Ken Johnson *   	6'11"   Sr.     G       Ohio State 
Britton Johnson         6'9"    Jr.     G       Utah 
Joe Johnson             6'6"    So.     F       Arkansas 
Kaspars Kambala *       6'9"    Sr.     F       UNLV 
Jason Kapono *  	6'7"    So.     F       UCLA 
Mike Kelley *   	6'3"    Sr.     G       Wisconsin 
Terence Morris *        6'9"    Sr.     F       Maryland 
Albert Mourning         6'3"    Sr.     F       Connecticut 
Troy Murphy *!  	6'9"    Jr.     G       Notre Dame 
Robert O'Kelly  	6'1"    Sr.     G       Wake Forest 
Dean Oliver             5'11"   Sr.     G       Iowa 
Tayshaun Prince *       6'8     Jr.     F       Kentucky 
Kenny Satterfield       6'2"    So.     G       Cincinnati 
Brian Scalabrine *      6'9"    Sr.     F       USC 
Darius Songaila         6'9"    Jr.     F       Wake Forest 
Deaundra Tanner         6'2"    Sr.     G       Oregon St. 
Jamaal Tinsley  	6'3"    Sr.     G       Iowa St. 
Elton Tyler             6'9"    Sr.     F       Miami 
B.B. Waldon             6'8"    Jr.     F       S. Florida 
Jason Williams *        6'2"    So.     G       Duke 
LOREN WOODS *   	7'1"    Sr.     C       ARIZONA
MICHAEL WRIGHT *        6'8"    Jr.     F       ARIZONA
Vincent Yarbrough*      6'7"    Jr.     F       Tennessee

* denotes top 25 ! denotes 2000 All-American John R. Wooden Award Winners, 1977-2000 2000 Kenyon Martin Cincinnati 1999 Elton Brand Duke University 1998 Antawn Jamison University of North Carolina 1997 Tim Duncan Wake Forest University 1996 Marcus Camby University of Massachusetts 1995 Ed O'Bannon UCLA 1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue University 1993 Calbert Cheaney Indiana University 1992 Christian Laettner Duke University 1991 Larry Johnson University of Nevada, Las Vegas 1990 Lionel Simmons La Salle University 1989 SEAN ELLIOTT ARIZONA 1988 Danny Manning University of Kansas 1987 David Robinson United States Naval Academy 1986 Walter Berry St. John's University 1985 Chris Mullin St. John's University 1984 Michael Jordan University of North Carolina 1983 Ralph Sampson University of Virginia 1982 Ralph Sampson University of Virginia 1981 Danny Ainge Brigham Young University 1980 Darryl Griffith University of Louisville 1979 Larry Bird Indiana State University 1978 Phil Ford University of North Carolina 1977 Marques Johnson UCLA

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
Uploaded Ad
Soccer vs. ASU Slider