Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Marcus Bell Named a Semi-Finalist for Butkus Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 21, 1999
Related Links
Arizona senior linebacker Marcus Bell (St. Johns, Ariz.) was selected as one of 11 semi-finalists for this year's Butkus Award, the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando announced today. The award is presented annually to the best linebacker in college football. This list of 11 semi-finalists was determined by balloting done by the 28-member Butkus Award Selection Committee, who made their selections from the initial Butkus Award Watch List of 66 college linebackers.

Bell currently leads the Wildcats in tackles and is third in the Pac-10 with 60 (34 solo), including eight for a loss. He also has a pass interception, three pass break-ups and a half-sack.

The list of 11 semi-finalists will be paired to three finalists, which will be announced on Nov. 11. From there, the 1999 Butkus Award winner will be announced on Dec. 10.

The 11 semi-finalists are:

Marcus Bell, Arizona                    Brandon Short, Penn State
LaVarr Arrington, Penn State    	Mark Simoneau, Kansas State
Na'il Diggs, Ohio State         	Barrin Simpson, Mississippi State
James Hall, Michigan                    Jamel Smith, Virginia Tech
Dhani Jones, Michigan           	Raynoch Thompson, Tennessee
Dan Morgan, Miami (Fla.)
#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets