Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Olson Named Finalist for Naismith Coach-of-the-Year Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: February 28, 2001
Related Links
TUCSON, Ariz. - – Arizona men's basketball coach Lute Olson was named one of 20 finalists for the Naismith College Basketball Coach-of-the-Year Award.

Olson, in his 18th year at Arizona, has guided the Wildcats to a 19-7 record and No. 9 national ranking to date this season. He is joined on the list by (listed alphabetically): Rod Barnes (Mississippi), Jim Boeheim (Syracuse), Mike Brey (Notre Dame), Billy Donovan (Florida), Matt Doherty (North Carolina), Lefty Driesell (Georgia State), Craig Esherick (Georgetown), Larry Eustashy (Iowa State), Pete Gillen (Virginia), Mark Gottfried (Alabama), Paul Hewitt (Georgia Tech), Tom Izzo (Michigan State), Mike Krzyzewski (Duke), Phil Martelli (St. Joseph's), Mike Montgomery (Stanford), Kelvin Sampson (Oklahoma), Bill Self (Illinois), Al Skinner (Boston College) and Roy Williams (Kansas).

In 28 years as a head coach, Olson has a career record of 630-224 (.738), including 438-132 (.768) at Arizona. During his 18-year tenure at Arizona, the Wildcats have won one national championship (1997), gone to three Final Fours (1988, 1994, 1997), won nine Pac-10 Conference titles and been to the NCAA Tournament for the past 16 years in a row, which is the second-longest streak in NCAA history. Olson has led Arizona to 14 consecutive 20-win seasons and has 22 overall in his career, making him one of only six head coaches in NCAA history to record 22 or more 20-win seasons.

The winner of the Naismith College Basketball Coach-of-the-Year Award will be announced on Saturday, April 7, as part of the Naismith Awards program, which recognizes excellence in basketball. Now in its 33rd year, the program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets