Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
UA Wide Receiver Named Semi-Finalist for Biletnikoff Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 29, 1999
Related Links
University of Arizona senior wide receiver Dennis Northcutt (Los Angeles, Calif./ Dorsey H.S.) was named a semi-finalist for the 1999 Biletnikoff Award today. The award voters narrowed the field to 10 receivers with their vote.

Northcutt has been a multi-threat receiver for the Wildcats this season. He has caught 57 passes for 966 yards and seven touchdowns, and he is also Arizona's No. 2 rusher on the season, yardage-wise. He has rushed 10 times for 188 yards and a touchdown.

Northcutt is also a nominee for the Mosi Tatupu Award for special teams play. He has returned 14 punts for 271 yards, including a 80-yard return for a touchdown. He has five kickoff returns for 120 yards.

His 1,551 yards (on 86 plays) are the most all-purpose yardage in the nation this season. He is No. 2 nationally in all purpose yardage per game (193.13 ypg) and is the top receiver in that category. He is No. 4 in the nation this year in receiving yards per game (120.75).

Northcutt is the first Arizona player to be named a semi-finalist for the award, which began in 1994. A three-year starter at receiver, Northcutt has broken several Arizona records. He holds the marks for pass receptions (192, previously 153 by "T" Bell) and receiving yardage (2,796, previously 2,509 by Bell). He set a Pac-10 record against Oregon by catching a pass in his 38th consecutive game.

Northcutt's teammate Marcus Bell was names as one of 11 semi-finalists for the Butkus Award last week, an award that goes to the nation's top linebacker. With Bell and Northcutt being named as semi-finalists for the Butkus and Biletnikoff Awards, Arizona joins Miami (Fla.) as the only schools in the country with players who are semi-finalists for both awards. The Hurricanes have Dan Morgan on the Butkus list and Santana Moss among the group of Biletnikoff semi-finalists.

The voting panel will determine the three finalists with their next vote on Nov. 18.

Biletnikoff Finalists

Dennis Northcutt, Arizona; Plaxico Burress, Michigan State; Kwame Cavill, Texas; JaJuan Dawson, Tulane; Trevor Insley, Nevada; Darrell Jackson, Florida; Santana Moss, Miami (Fla.); Troy Walters, Stanford; Peter Warrick, Florida State; Dez White, Georgia Tech

Past Biletnikoff Award Winners

1994, Bobby Engram, Penn State; 1995, Terry Glenn, Ohio State; 1996, Marcus Harris, Wyoming; 1997,Randy Moss, Marshall; 1998, Troy Edwards, Louisiana Tech

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets