Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Bayless, Budinger NABC 3/4/2008
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 04, 2008
Related Links

Named all-District 15 by National Association of Basketball Coaches


TUCSON, Ariz. ?C ? Two University of Arizona menˇ?s basketball players were named all-district by the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the organization announced Tuesday.


Jerryd Bayless and Chase Budinger were selected NABC all-District 15 in voting done by member coaches. Bayless was a first-team selection, while Budinger was a second-team honoree.


Bayless, a 6-foot-3, 199-pound freshman guard from Phoenix, Ariz., was one of five student-athletes tabbed to the District 15 first team after averaging 20.4 points, 2.8 rebounds and 4.3 assists per game in 25 appearances. Bayless shoots 47.7 percent (150-of-315) from the field and a team-leading 82.1 percent (156-of-190) from the free throw line. Heˇ?s finished in double figures 22 times this year, including 11 20-point and four 30-point games.? It is the first time that Bayless has been honored by the NABC.


Budinger, a 6-foot-7, 203-pound sophomore forward from Encinitas, Calif., was one of five players named to the District 15 second team after averaging 17.2 points, 5.3 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game in 29 appearances. Budinger shoots 43.2 percent (171-of-396) from the field and a leads the team with 63 5 three-point field goals (.371 percentage). He has a team-leading 24 double-figure scoring games to his credit in 2007-08 and has registered one double-double. It is the second time that Budinger has been honored by the NABC.


Both players are now eligible for All-America accolades from the NABC, which will be announced on Saturday, April 5.? Since 1951-52, Arizona players have earned a total of 85 all-district honors from the coaches association.


Arizona (17-12, 7-9 Pac-10) will next be in action on Thursday, March 6, at Oregon State. The game will tip-off at 6 p.m. PST and will be televised by FSN Arizona.


National Association of Basketball Coaches

2008 All-District 15 Teams


First Team

Kevin Love, UCLA

Jerryd Bayless, Arizona

James Harden, Arizona State

Darren Collison, UCLA

O.J. Mayo, USC


Second Team

Chase Budinger, Arizona

Alex Harris, UCSB

Justin Hawkins, New Mexico State

Wink Adams, UNLV

Josh Akognon, Cal State Fullerton

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets