Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Burnett and Hollowell Named Pac-10 Medalists
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 13, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Arizona’s multi-NCAA champion swimmer Simon Burnett and Women’s College World Series most outstanding player Alicia Hollowell joined other top male and female student-athletes from around the league as 2006 Pacific-10 Conference Medal winners today.


The 2005-06 medal winners were announced Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen. A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution’s outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.


The Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10

Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament next March.


Burnett won the 200 freestyle for a third career title in the event at the NCAA Championships in March, leading Arizona to a second-place finish and helping coach Frank Busch to NCAA Coach of the Year honors. He also was a part of three first-place relay NCAA titlists ?- the 200 Medley, 400 Free and 800 Free ?- plus took individual thirds in the 50 Free and the 100 Free and swam on the second-place 200 Free relay. He also was Pac-10 Men’s Swimmer of the Year.


Hollowell, one of Arizona’s half dozen four-time All-Americans, earned 2nd-team honors for the second consecutive year after first-team honors her first two seasons in 2003 and 2004, but took on all comers and surpassed the first-team selections in head-to-head competition at the NCAA’s WCWS. She helped beat Texas and Tennessee stars to put UA in the championship series, and then her pitching spearheaded UA’s title sweep over Northwestern, winning 8-0 and 5-0. She is Arizona’s all-time leader in pitching victories, strikeouts and single-season marks in those categories and more.


Burnett and Hollowell both were named the outstanding seniors at annual CATS Senior

Awards ceremonies in May, winning the Sapphire and Ruby Awards, respectively.


Following are the 2005-06 award winners:


2005-06 Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners

School                       Male                                             Female

Arizona                       Simon Burnett, Swimming         Alicia Hollowell, Softball

Arizona State             Alejandro Canizares, Golf          Ashley Kelly, Gymnastics

California                   Calen Carr, Soccer                     Kristina Thorson, Softball

Oregon                       Eric Mitchum, Track & Field      Caitlin Gamble, Soccer

Oregon State             Lamar Hurd, Basketball             Chrissy Lamun, Gymnastics

Stanford                     Peter Varellas, Water Polo        Alice Barnes, Tennis

UCLA                         Chris Jensen, Baseball              Kate Richardson, Gymnastics

USC                            Juraj Zatovic, Water Polo           Blythe Hartley, Diving

Washington                James Lepp, Golf                       Paige Mackenzie, Golf

Washington State     Jay Miller, Baseball                     Tamara Diles, Track & Field


Pacific-!0 Conference Medal Winners

University of Arizona


2006    Simon Burnett, swimming              Alicia Hollowell, softball

2005    Channing Frye, hoops                     Emily Mason, swimming

2004    Chris Nallen, golf                              Wendy Allen, softball

2003    Jason Johnson, Football                Lovieanne Jung, Softball

2002    Brandon Nash, Football                  Jennie Finch, Softball

2001    Patrick Nduwimana, T&F                Lauren Bauer, Softball

2000    Ryk Neethling, Swimming              Heidi Hornbeek, Gymnastics

1999    Abdi Abdirahman, T&F                     Amy Skieresz, T&F

1998    Joe Salave’a, Football                     Nancy Evans, Softball

1997    Wayne Wyatt, Football                      Leah O’Brien, Softball

1996    Jan Anderson, Tennis                     Jenny Dalton, Softball

1995    Martin Keino, T&F                             Amy Chellevold, Softball

1994    Michael McQuitty, Swimming          Tanya Hughes, T&F

1993    Jason Thompson, Baseball           Stacy Fowlkes, Gymnastics

1992    John Fina, Football                           Lori Detweiler, Diving

1991    Trev Anderson, Golf                          Sharon Manship, T&F

1990    Derek Huff, T&F                                 Stacy Engel, Softball

1988    Chuck Cecil, Football                       Yolanda Turner, Basketball

1987    Chip Hale, Baseball

1986    Gordon Bunch, Football

1985    George DiCarlo, Swimming

1984    Ivan Lesnik, Football

1983    Jeff Hess, Cross Country/Track

1982    Jim Bagnall, Baseball

1981    Ted Staren, Tennis

1980    Joe Nehls, Football

1979    Jeff Whitton, Football


Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D