Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Jennie Finch Named Honda Award Winner For Softball
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 22, 2004
Related Links

May 29, 2001

TUCSON, Ariz.- Women's College World Series Most Outstanding Player Jennie Finch added to her long list of postseason accolades Tuesday afternoon, when it was announced that she was the recipient of the Honda Sports Award for softball. The honor automatically nominates the junior for the Honda-Broderick Cup to be presented to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.

Finch, who shutout UCLA 1-0 in the national title game on Monday, is the first Arizona starting pitcher to complete a season undefeated on the mound. The LaMirada, Calif., native finished the season with a perfect 32-0 record and a 0.54 ERA . Additionally, she hit .313 with 11 home runs and 57 RBIs for the national champion Wildcats.

The Honda Awards program has just completed its 24th year and recognizes the top women collegiate athlete in each of 12 sports. The Honda Award winners in the 12 sports are candidates for the Collegiate Woman of the Year to receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at a banquet on June 11, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Including this season, a total of eight Arizona players have been named as a finalist for the softball award 10 times since 1993. Finch joins former Wildcats Nancy Evans (1998), Jenny Daulton (1996) and Susie Parra (1994) as award winners.

2000-2001 Honda Award Winners
Athlete			Sport			School
Jan Adams		Lacrosse		Maryland
Mohini Bhardwai		Gymnastics		UCLA
Greichaly Cepero	Volleyball		Nebraska
Marina Digiacomo	Field Hockey		Old Dominion
Jennie Finch		Softball		Arizona
Meredith Florance	Soccer			North Carolina
Laura Granville		Tennis			Stanford
Kara Grgas-Wheeler	Cross Country	        Colorado
Candy Hannemann		Golf			Duke
Misty Hyman		Swimming		Stanford
Jackie Stiles		Basketball		Southwest Missouri State
Brenda Taylor		Track and Field	        Harvard