Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Frank Busch, Three Swimmers to be Inducted in Hall of Fame
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 04, 2011
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Nov. 4, 2011

TUCSON, Ariz. -

Former Arizona head swimming coach Frank Busch will be inducted into The University of Arizona Sports Hall of Fame on Friday night at McKale Memorial Center. Joining Busch will be three former Wildcat swimmers including Simon Burnett (2002-06), Lyndon Ferns (2002-06) and Marshi Smith (2002-06).

Busch coached at Arizona for 22 seasons and guided the Wildcats to a men’s and women’s teams to NCAA Division I National Championships in 2008. In addition, Busch’s swimmers won 49 individual national championships, 31 relay championships and have finished among the nation’s top-five teams on 27 occasions (16 for women, 11 for men.)  Beginning in 1991, at least one UA swimmer on either the men’s or women’s side has won an individual NCAA championship in each of the last 21 seasons.

Burnett, a native of Tetsworth, U.K., was a multi-NCAA Champion swimmer for Arizona, winning the 200 free in 2003 and 2005. While at Arizona, he set the NCAA 200 free record (1:31.20) in 2006, making him the fastest man ever in a short-course yard pool.

Ferns, a native from Pietersburg, South Africa, earned eight individual first-team and 15 relay All-America honors with the Wildcats. He collected five career top-four finishes at the NCAA Championships along with a title in the 100 fly. In addition, he won the 2006 Pac-10 title in the 800 free relay.

Smith, a native of Annandale, Va., earned All-American honors in four events during her freshman year at Arizona and was named an All-American in 2004 for her 100 back performance. She went on to be the 2005 Pac-10 Champion and the NCAA Champion in the 100 back with a time of 52.82.

For complete results and continued coverage of Arizona Swimming and Diving, visit

Margo Geer P12 WOTY