Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Arizona Heads To Softball College World Series
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 19, 2002
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 19, 2002

Game 1 Box Score | Game 2 Box Score

Minneapolis, Minn-- Arizona won the NCAA Region II Softball Championship in an 8-0 victory over DePaul. This will mark Arizona's 15th-consecutive appearance to the College World Series.

The trip to Oklahoma didn't come easy for the Cats. Arizona lost to DePaul earlier in the day, 6-0, and were forced to play them in the Championship game. Senior Jennie Finch gave up four runs in the fourth inning. DePaul's next runs came in the fifth and sixth inning, both singles to the outfield.

Arizona brought stiff competition to the second game from the beginning, scoring its first run in the bottom of the first inning. With the bases loaded, Mackenzie Vandergeest hit a single to left field, bringing Loveianne Jung home to give Arizona a 1-0 edge.

In the bottom of the second, Arizona had runners on first and second when Courtney Fossatti hit a single up the middle and Lisha Ribellia advanced from second to score. After an intentional walk for Leneah Manuma, an error by DePaul's shortstop allowed Courtney Fossatti and Jung to score, bringing the Arizona lead to 4-0. A double by Jackie Coburn brought Manuma and Mackenzie Vandergeest home, and Arizona left the inning with a 6-0 lead over DePaul. DePaul's pitcher Lindsay Chouinard was hit by Fossatti's single, but completed the inning, only to be relieved in the third by Sarah Martz.

In the bottom of the third with the bases again loaded, a single by Jennie Finch allowed Ribella to score. An error by the leftfielder on the same play, advanced Jung to home, and Arizona's lead extended to 8-0. The Wildcats would retain that lead through the fourth inning until the game was called in Arizona's favor after the top of the fifth.

Meaghan Finnerty, Courtney Fossatti, Jenny Gladding, Mackenzie Vandergeest and Jennie Finch were all named to the All-Tournament team.

The Women's College World Series starts on Thursday, May 23 in Oklahoma City. Arizona hopes to win their seventh National Championship.