Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Four Cats Named All-Pac-12
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 16, 2012
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

May 16, 2012

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Four Wildcats were members of the All-Pac-12 first or second teams, as announced by the conference Wednesday. Shelby Pendley was awarded first-team all-conference and Brigette Del Ponte, Hallie Wilson and Lini Koria were named to the second team.

Pendley hit .346 and led Arizona with 18 home runs and 53 RBI with a slugging percentage of .730. Pendley is one of three freshman named to the 20-player first-team all-Pac-12.

Koria, who was named all-Pac-10 Honorable Mention each of her first three years, was named to all-conference second team after hitting 16 home runs and batting .328 on the season. Koria drove home 33 runs and slugged .723.

Del Ponte earns her third citation on the all-conference team, this year a second-team selection. The third baseman was a first-team selection as a sophomore in 2011 and a second-teamer as a freshman in 2010. The junior has hit 14 homers and 14 doubles while driving in 51 runs this season.

Wilson earned second-team honors in her freshman year after leading the team with a .355 batting average from UA's leadoff spot. Wilson hit 12 doubles and a pair of home runs while driving in 26 runs.

Jessica Spigner was named all-Pac-12 Honorable Mention in her first year with the conference. The senior transfer from Tennessee hit .257 with eight home runs and 33 RBI.

Pendley and Wilson were also named to the conference's all-freshman team. Chelsea Goodacre and Chelsea Suitos received honorable mention citations for first-year-players.

Cal's Valerie Arioto was named Player of the Year, Cal's Jolene Henderson earned Pitcher of the Year, UCLA's Stephany LaRosa was selected as Freshman of the Year, Stanford's Ashley Hansen was named Defensive Player of the Year, Cal's Diane Ninemire was selected as Coach of the Year and ASU's Katelyn Boyd earned the Pac-12 Batting Champion.


First Team Name Position Year School Valerie Arioto (3) UTIL RS Sr. California B.B. Bates OF Jr. UCLA Katelyn Boyd (3) SS Sr. Arizona State Dallas Escobedo (2) P So. Arizona State Ashley Hansen (4) SS Sr. Stanford Andrea Harrison (3) OF/1B Sr. UCLA Jolene Henderson (2) P Jr. California Kaitlin Inglesby P/DP So. Washington Alix Johnson OF So. Arizona State Stephany LaRosa 3B Fr. UCLA Annie Lockwood OF/1B Sr. Arizona State Jessica Moore (2) P Jr. Oregon Samantha Pappas (2) OF Jr. Oregon Shelby Pendley SS Fr. Arizona Kimi Pohlman (3) OF Sr. Washington Jamia Reid (3) OF Sr. California Jenna Rich 2B Jr. Stanford Elizabeth Santana SS Jr. Oregon State Katie Schroeder (2) OF RS Sr. UCLA Hanna Winter INF Fr. Stanford

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection (3) - Three-time All-Conference selection (4) - Four-time All-Conference selection

Second Team Name Position Year School Hillary Bach P Sr. Arizona State Samantha Camuso DP RS Sr. UCLA Elizabeth Caporuscio OF Fr. Arizona State Kelsey Chambers SS Sr. Oregon Brigette Del Ponte 3B Jr. Arizona Kaylan Howard 2B Jr. Oregon Lini Koria C/DP Sr. Arizona Leah White OF Fr. Stanford Nikia Williams UTIL Sr. Washington Hallie Wilson OF Fr. Arizona

Honorable Mention Jenna Becerra, STAN; Mary Claire Brenner, OSU; Maya Burns, STAN; Courtney Ceo, ORE; Kailee Cuico, ORE; Frani Echavarria, CAL; Katelyn Elliott, UTAH; Amber Freeman, ASU; Teagan Gerhart, STAN; Dani Gilmore, OSU; Erin Guzy, OSU; Paige Hall, OSU; Jessica Hall, UCLA; Talor Haro, ASU; Victoria Hayward, WASH; Danielle Henderson, CAL; Whitney Holm, UTAH; Kelsey Hoopiiaina, UTAH; Breana Kostreba, CAL; Kylee Lahners, WASH; Generra Nielson, UTAH; Christie Nieto, ORE; Tia Palauni, UTAH; Alexa Peterson, ORE; Jessica Spigner, ARIZ; Bailey Wigness, ASU; Jace Williams,CAL; Dani Yudin, UCLA.


First Team Name Position School Elizabeth Caporuscio OF Arizona State Ally Carda P/1B UCLA Cheyenne Cordes INF/OF California Amber Freeman C Arizona State Dani Gilmore OF/C Oregon State Danielle Henderson 3B/C California Breana Kostreba INF California Stephany LaRosa 3B UCLA Shelby Pendley SS Arizona Haley Steele 3B Arizona State Janie Takeda OF Oregon Leah White OF Stanford Hallie Wilson OF Arizona Hanna Winter INF Stanford

Honorable Mention Kate Dickman, UTAH; Aryn Feickert, OSU; Kiara Garcia, OSU; Chelsea Goodacre, ARIZ; Sara Goodrum, ORE; Karissa Hovinga, ORE; Kylee Lahners, WASH; Cassandra Roulund, STAN; Kimberlee Souza, WASH; Chelsea Suitos, ARIZ; Nyree White, STAN.