Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Cats Open WCWS Thursday Night
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 30, 2010
Related Links

May 30, 2010

2010 WCWS Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

2010 Arizona WCWS Media Guide

TUCSON -- The 10th seeded Arizona Wildcats, 5-0 in NCAA play after Regional and Super Regional rounds, will arrive in Oklahoma City Tuesday and continue preparations for their opening game of the Women's College World Series at 6 p.m. (CDT) Thursday against Tennessee in ASA Hall of Fame Stadium.

The game will be shown live on ESPN2 HD and on

Arizona (48-11) and the 15th-seed Lady Vols (47-13) have some WCWS history, with the Cats beating Tennessee in a three-game series to claim the 2007 NCAA title at Oklahoma City. The Lady Vols, however, hold a 4-3 margin over Arizona in seven games played in the WCWS in 2005, 2006 and that title season. The Cats, however, knocked out Tennessee in 2006 to face Northwestern in the title series and eventually win that NCAA Championship, too.

The opening game for both teams will be Game 3 in the series, with the winner facing the winner of the Washington-Georgia game (G4) and the loser facing the loser of that contest. A full bracket is attached above to see all the scenarios thereafter.

UA and Washington are joined by UCLA from the Pac-10 to give the league three entrants, while Tennessee and Georgia of the Southeastern Conference also have colleague Florida in the field. Hawaii of the Western Athletic Conference and Missouri of the Big 12 round out the field.

Arizona is making its 22nd appearance in the WCWS and working on a streak of six consecutive after its 16-year run from 1988 to 2003 was snapped in 2004. The Wildcats have won eight national titles under head coach Mike Candrea and along with Pac-10 members have claimed 21 titles since the sport started Division I championship play in 1982.

The Pac-10 has a serious edge, with the Big 12 winning three titles (Texas A&M twice and Oklahoma once), the Big Ten one (Michigan), the Big West one (Cal State Fullerton) and the WAC winning one (Fresno State).