Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Salim Stoudamire and Channing Frye Earn USBWA All-District Honors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 09, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Stoudamire named district player of the year


TUCSON, Ariz. ?- University of Arizona men’s basketball players Salim Stoudamire and Channing Frye were named to the All-District 9 team, in voting released Tuesday by the United States Basketball Writers Association.


Stoudamire and Frye  were each named to the 10-man District 9 squad, which covers the states of California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona, Alaska).  Arizona was one of three schools to have two players earn all-district accolades.


Stoudamire, a 6-foot-1, 179-pound senior guard from Portland, Ore., earned district player-of-the-year honors after averaging a team-leading 18.2 points, to go with 2.3 rebounds and 1.9 assists per game.  He is shooting 51.5 percent (169-of-328) from the field, including a nation’s best 53.0 percent (96-of-181) from three-point range, and 89.5 percent (94-of-10) from the free throw line.  Stoudamire has finished in double figures 25 times in 2004-05, including 14 games with 20 or more points.  It is the first time he has received all-district honors from the USBWA.


Frye, a 6-foot-11, 248-pound senior center from Phoenix, Ariz., is averaging 15.6 points, 7.5 rebounds and 2.1 blocked shots per game this season.  He’s connected on 52.4 percent (178-of-340) of his field goal attempts and 83.5 percent (111-of-133) of his free throws.  Through 30 games, Frye has six double-doubles to his credit and has scored in double figures in 21 consecutive games.  He was a first team USBWA all-district selection last season as well.


Since 1986, Arizona players have amassed a total of 27 all-district honors from the USBWA.  Included in that total are five district players of the year:  Sean Elliott, 1988, 1989; Chris Mills, 1993; Jason Gardner, 2003; and Stoudamire.


No. 8 Arizona (25-5, 15-3 Pac-10) will next be in action on Thursday, March 10, at the 2005 Pacific Life Pac-10 Tournament in Los Angeles.  The Wildcats open play in the quarterfinals against California.  Tip-off is scheduled for 12:20 p.m. PST and can be seen nationally on Fox Sports Net.


United States Basketball Writers Association

All-District 9 (California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona, Alaska)

Ike Diogu, Arizona State

Channing Frye, Arizona

Daniel Kickert, St. Mary’s

Adam Morrison, Gonzaga

Christian Maraker, Pacific

Nate Robinson, Washington

Tre Simmons, Washington

Salim Stoudamire, Arizona

Dijon Thompson, UCLA

Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga


District Player of the Year:  Salim Stoudamire, Arizona

District Coach of the Year:  Bob Thomason, Pacific

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets