Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Volleyball All Pac-10 Teams Announced
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 30, 2010
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Nov. 30, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Arizona volleyball players Tiffany Owens, Cursty Jackson, Paige Weber and Candace Nicholson were commended for their standout seasons by being named to All Pac-10 Teams, the Pac-10 Conference announced today.


Owens, named to the All Pac-10 list, led Arizona in kills and digs on the season and became just the second player in program history to notch over 400 in each category, joining Terry Lauchner in 1988. Twice named the Pac-10 Player of the Week this season, Owens led the conference in double-doubles with 18 on the year. Impressively, Owens recorded 20 or more kills and digs on five separate occasions.


Jackson and Weber were both included on the All Pac-10 honorable mention list.  Jackson, the Wildcats' leading middle blocker on the year, recorded a hitting percentage of .350 while totaling 133 blocks.  Weber, Arizona's senior setter appearing in every match of her career, led UA with 1,305 assists and 24 aces. Through her career, Weber recorded over 1,000 assists each season and is second on the UA all-time list.


Nicholson assumed the starting libero position mid way through the season and finished second on the team in total digs with 353.  With two additional digs, Nicholson will move into the top 10 on the single season UA digs record list.


Owens becomes the first Arizona player to be named All Pac-10 since Kim Glass and Jen Abernathy garnered the kudos in 2005.  Last season, UA had four selected as honorable mention winners.


The Wildcats will face Northwestern on Friday, Dec. 3 at 5 p.m. MST in the first round of the NCAA Tournament in Cedar Falls, Iowa.  Arizona earned its 14th trip to the postseason under head coach Dave Rubio.


Northwestern was one of eight Big Ten teams to make the postseason and are led by hitters Sabel Moffett and Naomi Johnson.


A complete listing of the conference honors can be found here.