Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Softball Signs Five High School Seniors
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 14, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

TUCSON, Ariz. ?- Arizona softball head coach Mike Candrea announced Tuesday that five student-athletes have signed National Letters-of-Intent to attend UA and play for the seven-time national champion Wildcats.


The five signees; Lauren Schutzler, Brittany Lastrapes, Lindsey Sisk, Tawny Horton and Victoria Kemp are scheduled to arrive on campus fall 2007.


“This is a very good class that will provide immediate help for us to keep this program at the top,” Candrea said.


Schutzler, an outfielder from Monterey, Calif., is the left-handed hitting sister of Tennessee All-American Lindsay Schutzler.  This past summer, Schutzler played alongside current Wildcat freshmen K’Lee Arredondo and Sarah Akamine for the ASA Gold 18-under runner-up Worth Firecrackers.


Lastrapes, a left-handed outfielder from Laguna Hills, Calif., is currently in Puerto Rico representing the Untied States on the Junior Pan-American Qualifier Team.  Through Monday, she has led the unbeaten team with a .700 (7-for-10) batting average and eight runs scored in 10 at-bats.  Lastrapes also has an accomplished softball-playing sister, Dominique, who is an All-American senior at Washington.


Sisk is also donning the Red, White and Blue in Puerto Rico and has done some damage in the circle.  The pitcher and outfielder from Murrieta, Calif., has given up only two hits in four shutout innings of work at the qualifier.


Horton, the only Arizonan in the class, hails from Gilbert and possesses a strong outfield arm and a potent left-handed bat.


“Tawny has an extremely strong arm and some good skills,” Candrea said.  “Like all of our recruits, a lot will be determined by the way she develops and performs at this level.”


Rounding out the quintet, Kemp is a right-handed second baseman from Saugus, Calif.


Arizona opens its 2007 season in Tempe at the Kajikawa Classic on Feb. 9 against Ohio State.