Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Four Football Players Named Academic All Pac-10
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 20, 2001
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Nov. 20, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Senior quarterback Jason Johnson, senior defensive end Eli Wnek, senior strong safety Brandon Nash and redshirt freshman defensive back Justin Jochum were named today to the 2001 Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic Football Team.

All earned first-team selection, the University of Arizona's biggest contingent since it joined the league in 1978. The Cats had two selections six other times, including last year when Wnek (as a tight end) and Nash earned the honor. Wnek is a three-time first-team honoree.

Additionally, three younger players on the Wildcat team earned honorable mention. Consideration for selection requires a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and status as either a starter or significant substitute. The three UA honorable mention players were redshirt freshman quarterback John Rattay, redshirt freshman long snapper Ben DalMolin and sophomore punter Ramiro Peru.

Wnek (first team) and Johnson (second team) were honored a day earlier with selection to the Verizon Academic All-District VIII team.

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets