Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Arizona's David Rubio Named ASICS/Volleyball Magazine National Coach-Of-The-Year
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 22, 2004
Related Links

Dec. 29, 2001

TUCSON, Ariz.- Arizona's head volleyball coach David Rubio has been the 2001 ASICS/Volleyball Magazine National Coach-of-the-Year, the publication announced on Friday. Rubio was honored as the nation's top coach for leading the Wildcats to a 25-5 overall record and the first NCAA Final Four appearance in school history in 2001. It is his third national coach-of-the-year honor in his 15-year career, but the first at the Division I level.

Rubio, whose career record stands at 317-162 (.662), was twice named ASICS Tiger Coach-of-the-Year at Division II Cal-State Bakersfield in 1989 and 1991.

Also honored on Friday were seniors Dana Burkholder and Jill Talbot. Burkholder, Arizona's career leader in assists, was named first-team All-America by the publication. It is the second consecutive season she has been recognized by Volleyball Magazine, making her the first player in Arizona history to be named a two-time All-American by two different organizations. She was named to her second straight AVCA All-America team early this month.

Classmate Talbot, who was also named first-team All-America by the AVCA, garnered third-team honors from Volleyball Magazine.

ASICS/Volleyball Magazine
2001 Division I All-American Team

Player of the Year: Logan Tom Stanford OH Jr.

Coach of Year: David Rubio Arizona

First team: Dana Burkholder Arizona S Sr. Lizzy Fitzgerald Wisconsin S Sr. Sherisa Livingston Wisconsin MB Sr. Nancy Metcalf Nebraska OPP Sr. Cheryl Weaver Long Beach State MB Sr. Kim Willoughby Hawaii OH Soph. Second team: Greichaly Cepero Nebraska S Jr. Aury Cruz Florida OH Soph. Kristee Porter UCLA OH Sr Tayyiba Haneef Long Beach State OH Sr. Amber Holmquist Nebraska MB Jr. Angela Knopf Colorado State OH Sr. Third team: Jennifer Joines Pacific MB Soph. Jenny Kropp Nebraska MB Sr. Jenna Moscovic Texas A&M S Sr. Jill Talbot Arizona Opp. Sr. April Ross USC OH Soph. Katie Wilkins Pepperdine OH Soph. Honorable Mention: Lindsey Berg (Minnesota) * Courtney Cox (Colorado State) * Stephanie Hagen (Minnesota) * Erin Hartley (Michigan State) * Brittany Hochevar (Long Beach State) * Benavia Jenkins (Florida) * Robyn Lewis (Stanford) * Molly O'Brien (Northern Iowa) * Keri Nishimoto (Long Beach State) * Jennifer Paul (USC) * Nicole McCray (Florida) * Katie Olsovsky (USC) * Katie Schumacher (Penn State) * Kim Turner (Utah) * Katie Virtue (Ohio State) * Liz Wegner (Kansas State). Freshman of the Year: Ogonna Nnamani (Stanford) All-Freshmen team: Kaeo Burdine (USC) * Jessica Diepersloot (Cal Poly) * Stacey Gordon (Ohio State) * Bethany Howden (Texas) * Sheila Ocasio-Clemente (UNLV) * Mia Topic (Texas).


Volleyball Season Tickets on Sale Now