Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Budinger Named to Naismith Trophy List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 18, 2008
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Dec. 18, 2008

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball player Chase Budinger was named to the 2008-09 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list, it was announced Thursday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The Wildcat junior is included among a list of 50 student-athletes who are under consideration for the 2009 Naismith Trophy, which has been given to college basketball's player of the year annually since 1969. Budinger is one of six Pac-10 players on the list, which ranks third nationally.

Budinger, a 6-foot-7, 218-pound forward from Encinitas, Calif., is averaging 18.8 points, 6.1 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game through nine games in 2008-09, while leading the team with 24 three-point field goals and a .600 (24-of-40) three-point field goal percentage. He has scored in double nine times to date, and is averaging 36.0 minutes per game.

In February, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow this list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Final balloting will take place in March. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2009 NCAA Men's Final Four in Detroit, Mich.

Arizona (7-2) is next in action on Saturday, Dec. 20, against UNLV in Las Vegas, Nev. Tip-off is scheduled for noon PST and can be seen nationally on the Versus network.

2008-09 Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List:

Last    	First	Class	Position	School
Abrams   	A.J.	  Sr.	Guard   	Texas
Adrien  	Jeff	  Sr.	Forward 	Connecticut
Akognon 	Josh	  Sr.	Guard   	Cal. St. Fullerton
Blair   	DeJuan	  So.	Forward 	Pittsburgh
Brockman	Jon	  Sr.	Forward 	Washington
Brown   	Derrick	  Jr. 	Forward 	Xavier
Budinger	Chase	  Jr.	Forward 	Arizona
Calathes	Nick	  So.	Guard/Forward	Florida
Clark   	Earl	  Jr.	Guard/Forward	Louisville
Collins 	Sherron	  Jr.	Guard   	Kansas
Collison	Darren	  Sr.	Guard   	UCLA
Cummard 	Lee	  Sr.	Guard   	Brigham Young
Curry   	Stephen	  Jr.	Guard   	Davidson
Downey  	Devan	  Jr. 	Guard   	South Carolina
Dozier  	Robert	  Sr.	Forward 	Memphis
Ellington	Wayne	  Jr.	Guard   	North Carolina
Gibson  	Taj	  Jr.	Forward 	Southern California
Griffin 	Blake	  So.	Forward 	Oklahoma
Hansbrough	Tyler	  Sr.	Forward 	North Carolina
Harangody	Luke	  Jr.	Forward 	Notre Dame
Harden  	James	  So.	Guard	        Arizona State
Henderson	Gerald	  Jr. 	Guard/Forward	Duke
Heytvelt	Josh	  Sr.	Forward 	Gonzaga
Hudson  	Lester	  Sr.	Guard   	Tennessee-Martin
Hummel  	Robbie	  So.	Forward 	Purdue
James   	Dominic	  Sr.	Guard   	Marquette
James   	Damion	  Jr.	Guard/Forward	Texas
Jerrells	Curtis	  Sr.	Guard   	Baylor
Lawal   	Gani	  So.	Forward 	Georgia Tech
Lawson  	Ty	  Jr.	Guard   	North Carolina
Maynor  	Eric	  Sr.	Guard   	Virginia Commonwealth
Mayo    	Josh	  Sr.	Guard   	Illinois-Chicago
McAlarney	Kyle	  Sr.	Guard   	Notre Dame
McClinton	Jack	  Sr.	Guard   	Miami
McNeal  	Jerel	  Sr.	Guard   	Marquette
Mills   	Patrick	  So.	Guard   	Saint Mary's
Moore   	E'Twaun	  So.	Guard   	Purdue
Morgan  	Raymar	  Jr.	Forward 	Michigan State
Ogilvy  	A.J.	  So.	Center   	Vanderbilt
Pargo   	Jeremy	  Sr.	Guard   	Gonzaga
Patterson	Patrick	  So.	Forward 	Kentucky
Price   	A.J.	  Sr.	Guard   	Connecticut
Reynolds	Scottie	  Jr.	Guard   	Villanova
Rice    	Tyrese	  Sr.	Guard   	Boston College
Smith   	Tyler	  Jr.	Forward  	Tennessee
Steele  	Ronald	  Sr.	Guard    	Alabama
Thabeet  	Hasheem	  Jr.	Center  	Connecticut
Vaden   	Robert	  Sr.	Guard/Forward	Alabama-Birmingham
Wilkinson	Gary	  Sr.	Forward 	Utah State
Young   	Sam	  Sr.	Forward 	Pittsburgh

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets