Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Swim and Dive Hang on to Third Place at Pac-10 Championships
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 04, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Federal Way, Wash. ?- After the third day of competition at the 2006 Pac-10 Championships, the No. 6 Arizona men’s swimming and diving team remains in third place with 370 points while capturing two individual conference titles.


            Senior Lyndon Ferns posted the first individual conference title of his career tonight, winning the 100 butterfly with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 46.43. Senior Simon Burnett also captured the 200 freestyle crown, setting a new Pac-10 meet record with a time of 1:33.26.


            Ferns’ and Burnett’s victories mark the first individual Pac-10 champions Arizona has seen since 2002 when former Wildcats Roland Schoeman and Omar Ojeda tallied two apiece. 


            In the 100 butterfly, sophomore Albert Subirats finished eighth (47.58), while freshman Nicolas Nilo placed 10th (48.29), and sophomore Darren Maxwell finished 12th (48.80).


            Freshman David Pursley finished 11th in the 400 individual medley with a time of 3:53.72, while junior Adam Ritter finished seventh in the 200 freestyle (1:36.42).


            Senior Dave Rollins finished fourth in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 54.08 as sophomore Bob Stinson finished 12th (56.28) and freshman Josh Arreguin finished 13th (56.32).


            In the 100 backstroke, sophomore Nick Thoman finished third with a time of 47.91 and Subirats finished fourth (48.58). Four Wildcats qualified for the consolation finals of the race as junior Denton Taylor finished 11th (47.91), junior Nate Rothman finished 12th (50.19), freshman Ryan Richardson was 13th (50.69) and sophomore Darren Maxwell 14th (51.02).


            The men will complete the Pac-10 Championships tomorrow at the Weyerhauser King County Aquatics Center. Preliminary action will begin at 11 a.m. (PST) and finals will start at 6 p.m.



Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D