Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcats Set to Compete at 2007 NCAA Championships
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 06, 2007
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

This Week in the Pool ?-The No. 4 Arizona women’s swim team is set to compete at the 2007 NCAA Championships on March 8-10 at the University Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn. Preliminary action will start at 11 a.m. (CST) and finals will begin at 7 p.m. each day.


 A Look at the Wildcats ?- The Wildcats will feature 19 swimmers at this year’s national championships, which posts the largest NCAA squad Arizona has ever qualified to compete for a chance to bring home the first national team title in the history of the program. 


The women are currently ranked No. 4 with an 8-2 (4-2 Pac-10) record, posting only two losses to No. 1 Stanford and third-ranked California. Arizona will return 10 NCAA qualifiers from last year to the Championships; including 2006 NCAA champions senior Whitney Myers, junior Lacey Nymeyer and sophomore Anna Turner.


Unbelievable Underclassmen ?- A total of seven freshmen and eight sophomores dominate this year’s NCAA women’s team, along with four upperclassmen to help lead the Wildcats.



Who’s qualified for NCAAs -


Fr. Ana Agy, So. Taylor Baughman*, Fr. Andrea Boritzke, Fr. Annie Chandler, Jr. Brandy Collins, Jr. Jacquelyn Craft*, So. Hailey DeGolia*, So. Jessica Embick*, Fr. Jenny Forster, Fr. Caitlin Iversen, So. Lara Jackson*, So. Lindsey Kelly*, Sr. Whitney Myers*, Jr. Lacey Nymeyer*, So. Justine Schluntz, So. Kathryn Thompson*, So. Anna Turner*, Fr. Leone Vorster, Fr. Joni Zimmerman.


* - Indicates athlete is a returning NCAA competitor.



2007  Pac-10 Champions ?- Arizona defended its Pac-10 title Saturday, Feb 17, climbing seven spots from the first day of competition to win the meet with 1,481.5 points


            At last year’s championships, the women won the meet with a total of seven titles, including four individual and three relay, however this year one individual victory and one relay victory was enough to capture the Pac-10 crown.


            The victory was the third Pac-10 Championship title for the women in school history, as they won in 2000, 2006 and 2007.


            “It took us all the way to the last day of competition, but we took the lead,” head swimming coach Frank Busch said. “I’m very happy for the girls and proud of their hard work. It was a tough four days, but they were so determined and that is what really made the difference in this meet.”


            On the first full day of competition, sophomore Lara Jackson posted the first and only individual title for the Wildcats in the 50 free. Jackson tied with Cal’s sophomore Dana Vollmer with a time of 22.05, which is a new Pac-10 meet record and ties Jackson’s own school record as well.


            The 200 free relay team of Jackson, Nymeyer, Turner and Kelly defended its conference title for the third straight year, winning the race with a meet record-breaking time of 1:26.71.


A look at the competition: The Wildcats will have their work cut out for them this week, taking on the best teams in the nation, as a total of 307 athletes from 57 institutions are qualified to compete at the Championships. The top-teams to defeat are the defending national Champions, Auburn, which won last year’s competition with 518.5 points, while qualifying 20 athletes for this year’s competition. Top-ranked Stanford has 16 girls competing, while No. 9 Georgia, which finished second at the meet last year, has 11 athletes competing.



What Happened Last Year - The Arizona women’s swimming and diving team completed the NCAA Championships in Athens, Ga. on March 18, 2006. The No. 4 Wildcats finished third for the third year in a row with 415 points while posting two individual titles by junior Whitney Myers and three relay titles, which is the most ever accumulated at the meet in school history.


Seven different Wildcats broke a total of 18 records over the course of the three-day meet including nine school, five pool, two U.S Open and two NCAA.





Arizona NCAA Championships History ?- Since 1991, the Arizona women have finished in the top ten at the NCAA Championships. While the Wildcats have never taken a national team title, there have been a total of 24 national champions (individual and relay combined). With the exception of the 2003 NCAA Championships, the women have posted at least one national title every year since 1995.



Past NCAA Championships:

Year   Place          Points

2006     3 rd            415

2005    3rd              440

2004     3rd             369

2003     9th             209

2002     5th             291

2001     5th             304

2000     2nd             472

1999     4th             332

1998     2nd            378

1997     4th             351.5

1996     6th             251

1995     5th              250

1994     10th             151

1993     6th             250

1992     5th             272

1991     7th             163  



Margo Geer P12 WOTY