Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Arizona Men?s Tennis Conclude All American West Regional
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 25, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

MALIBU, Calif. ?- The Arizona men’s tennis team completed play on Sunday, in the Wilson/ITA Fall Regional Championships in Malibu, Calif. Arizona competed in two matches of the main draws today, as they also wrapped up competition in the consolation bracket.


In Arizona’s only main draw action today, the Wildcats went 1-1 in doubles competition to finish in second place for the tournament. No. 5 senior Colin O’Grady and junior Roger Matalonga, started the day by defeating a very tough team of No. 23 Scott Doerner and Pedro Rico of Pepperdine University, 8-6. Later on in the afternoon, O’Grady and Matalonga fell to No. 3 Alberto Francis and Krzysztof Kwinta of UCLA, 8-4.


On other courts, the Wildcats made a very strong showing in the consolation bracket, as two Wildcats made it to the finals.


During the first round of the consolation bracket, the Wildcats had six competitors playing, as all six of them went on to advance. Senior Paul Warkentin defeated Christian Frick of UCR, 6-0, 6-1.  Sophomore Jason Labrosse defeated Oscar Plotnik of San Diego, 3-6, 7-5, 10-3. Freshman Bruno Alcala defeated Purav Raja of LMU, 6-4, 6-4. Freshman Luka Cerenko defeated Linas Cicenas of LMU, 6-3, 7-5. Sophomore Nathan Cochrane defeated Aaron Badart of USC, 6-4, 6-2. In the last match of the first round, Freshman Francois Vandermerwe defeated Arash Borman of UCI, 6-1, 6-4. For second round action, all the Wildcat players received bye’s to advance onto the third round.


In third round action, the Wildcats continued their superb play as they went 4-2, in their matches for the round. Warkentin defeated Kevin Borzenski of Pepperdine, 6-2, 6-1.  Labrosse, in a tough match, fell to Leo Basica of UCSB, 6-4, 6-4. Alcala defeated Ryusuke Kashiwabara of UCI, 6-4, 6-1. Cerenko defeated Sammy Atri of San Diego, 6-4, 7-6. Cochrane fell to Peter Surapol of UCI, 6-4, 7-6.  Vandermerwe defeated Beau Burgland of LMU, 7-6, 6-2.


In the Quarterfinals the Wildcat team continued to turn heads with their hard play, as they dominated the round, going 3-1 to send 3 players to the semifinals. Warkentin defeated Eugenio Romero of SDU, 6-2, 7-6. Alcala, in what was the hardest match for the Wildcats this round, defeated Basica 6-7, 6-0, 10-5. Cerenko, in a tough match to lose,





fell to Surapol, 7-6, 2-6, 10-4. To finish up the second round, Vandermerwe defeated Brian Wright of USC 7-6, 6-1.


The semifinals of the tournament guaranteed a Wildcat spot in the finals as it was a battle of two freshman and one senior to make it to those final two spots. In a very well fought battle of senior against freshman, Alcala showed his ability as the new kid on the team, defeating fellow teammate Warkentin in a well-fought match 7-5, 6-7, 10-7. Vandermerwe decided to continue this show of freshman brilliance as he defeated Surapol, in a come from behind victory, 6-7, 6-2, 10-8, to set up a battle of the freshman in the consolation bracket finals.


With two Wildcat freshmen in the finals, it was sure to be a battle of pride among teammates. Alcala came out ahead as he defeated Vandermewe, 6-0, 6-2.


The Wildcats will continue action next weekend Friday Oct. 29, as they will take Vandermerwe, Cerenko, along with Tim Mullane, to compete in the Alabama Classic, held in Tuscaloosa, Ala.



Doubles Semifinals

Matalonga/O’Grady (UA) def. Doerner/Rico (Pepp) ?- 8-6



Francis/Kwinta (UCLA) def. Matalonga/O’Grady (UA) ?- 8-4



1st Round

Paul Warkentin (UA) def. Christian Frick (UCR) ?- 6-0, 6-1

Jason Labrosse (UA) def. Oscar Plotnik (SD) ?- 3-6, 7-5, 10-3

Bruno Alcala (UA) def. Purav Raja (LMU) ?- 6-4, 6-4

Luka Cerenko (UA) def. Linas Cicenas (LMU) ?- 6-3, 7-5

Nathan Cochrane (UA) def. Aaron Badart (USC) ?- 6-4, 6-2

Francois Vandermerwe (UA) def. Arash Borman (UCI) ?- 6-1, 6-4


3rd Round

Paul Warkentin (UA) def. Kevin Borzenski (Pepp) ?- 6-2, 6-1

Leo Basica (UCSB) def. Jason Labrosse (UA) ?- 6-4, 6-4

Bruno Alcala (UA) def. Ryusuke Kashiwabara (UCI) ?- 6-4, 6-1

Luka Cerenko (UA) def. Sammy Atri (SD) ?- 6-4, 7-6

Peter Surapol (UCI) def. Nathan Cochrane (UA) 6-4, 7-6

Francois Vandermewe (UA) def. Beau Burgland (LMU) ?- 7-6, 6-2



Paul Warkentin (UA) def. Eugenio Romero (SDU) ?- 6-2, 7-6

Bruno Alcala (UA) def. Leo Basica ?- 6-7, 6-0, 10-5

 Peter Surapol (UCI) def. Luka Cerenko (UA)  - 7-6, 2-6, 10-4

Francois Vandermewe (UA) def. Brian Wright (USC) ?- 7-6, 6-1



Bruno Alcala (UA) def. Paul Warkentin (UA) ?- 7-5, 6-7, 10-7

Francois Vandermewe (UA) def. Peter Surapol (UCI) ?- 6-7, 6-2, 10-8



Bruno Alcala (UA) def. Francois Vandermewe (UA) ?- 6-0, 6-2



Bear Down Challenge M Ten