Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
20070529 Lowe up for Honda-Broderick Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 29, 2007
Related Links
<P><FONT face=Arial size=2>University of Arizona senior outfielder Caitlin Lowe, a three-time first-team All-American and among Arizona's top players in history, has been named to the ballot for the Honda Softball Award as the top collegian in the sport.</FONT></P> <P><FONT face=Arial size=2>The winner of the award becomes a candidate for the Honda-Broderick Cup presented annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.</FONT></P> <P><FONT face=Arial size=2>Lowe joins Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott and two Arizona State stars on the Honda Softball Award list, pitcher Katie Burkhart and outfielder Kaitlin Cochran.</FONT></P> <P><FONT face=Arial size=2>The senior from Tustin, Calif., was a top 10 finalist for USA Softball Player of the Year and is a finalist for the Lowe's Senior Class Award, among other accolades. She is a four-time first-team All-Pac-10 and All-Pacific Region honoree and likely to earn her fourth All-America honor this week. She was named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year for 2007.</FONT></P> <P><FONT face=Arial size=2>Lowe is a career .449 hitter and one of just 12 players in NCAA history to have accumulated 300 hits, 200 runs and 100 stolen bases in a career.<SPAN style="mso-spacerun: yes"> </SPAN>She enters Arizona's 19th Women's College World Series appearance this week with 341 hits, 240 runs and 156 steals.</FONT></P> <P><FONT face=Arial size=2>Arizona has had five Honda Award winners in softball -- pitcher Susie Parra (1994), infielder Jenny Dalton (1996), pitcher Nancy Evans (1998) and pitcher Jennie Finch twice (2001 and 2002). </FONT></P>