Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Sheedy, Jackson Earn Pac-10 Medals
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: June 10, 2009
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

June 10, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Arizona's Craig Sheedy and Lara Jackson from the swimming and diving program were among recipients of the 2008-09 Pacific-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal winners announced today.

A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

The Pac-10 recently renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who is retiring at the end of June after serving 26 years as Commissioner of the Pac-10.

The Tom Hansen Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Breakfast held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments next March.

Sheedy was named a winner of the prestigious NCAA Walter Byers Scholarship last month, one of the NCAA's top honors for student-athletes. Jackson is a multiple All-American and NCAA champion who was on two winning relays at the NCAA Championships and won the 50 free with an American, U.S. and NCAA-record swim.

Members of UA's distinguished swimming and diving program have won eight of the last 10 Conference Medals in the past five years.

2008-09 Pacific-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners  





Craig Sheedy, Diving

Lara Jackson, Swimming

Arizona State

Jeff Pendergraph, Basketball

Kaitlin Cochran, Softball


Alex Mack, Football

Dana Vollmer, Swimming


Galen Rupp, Track & Field

Anna Poponyak, Lacrosse

Oregon State

Andy Levitre, Football

Saori Haruguchi, Swimming


Sho Nakamori, Gymnastics

Foluke Akinradewo, Volleyball


Michael Look, Tennis

Jade Machado, Volleyball


Mark Sanchez, Football

Rebecca Soni, Swimming 


Jon Brockman, Basketball

Ashley Charters, Softball

Washington State

Taylor Rochestie, Basketball

Sara Trane, Track & Field


Pacific-!0 Conference Medal Winners - University of Arizona
2009	Craig Sheedy, Diving
	Lara Jackson, Swimming
2008	Albert Subirats, Swimming
	Lacey Nymeyer, Swimming
2007	Adam Ritter, Swimming
	Whitney Myers, Swimming
2006	Simon Burnett, Swimming
	Alicia Hollowell, Softball
2005	Channing Frye, Basketball
	Emily Mason, Swimming
2004	Chris Nallen, Golf
	Wendy Allen, Softball
2003	Jason Johnson, Football
	Lovieanne Jung, Softball
2002	Brandon Nash, Football
	Jennie Finch, Softball
2001	Patrick Nduwimana, Cross Country/Track &Field
	Lauren Bauer, Softball
2000	Ryk Neethling, Swimming
	Heidi Hornbeek, Gymnastics
1999	Abdi Abdirahman, Cross Country/Track &Field
	Amy Skieresz, Cross Country/Track &Field
1998	Joe Salave'a, Football
	Nancy Evans, Softball
1997	Wayne Wyatt, Football
	Leah O'Brien, Softball
1996	Jan Anderson, Tennis
	Jenny Dalton, Softball
1995	Martin Keino, Cross Country/Track
	Amy Chellevold, Softball
1994	Michael McQuitty, Swimming
	Tanya Hughes, Track & Field
1993	Jason Thompson, Baseball
	Stacy Fowlkes, Gymnastics
1992	John Fina, Football
	Lori Detweiler, Diving
1991	Trev Anderson, Golf
	Sharon Manship, Track & Field
1990	Derek Huff, Track & Field
	Stacy Engel, Softball
1988	Chuck Cecil, Football
	Yolanda Turner, Basketball
1987	Chip Hale, Baseball
1986	Gordon Bunch, Football
1985	George DiCarlo, Swimming
1984	Ivan Lesnik, Football
1983	Jeff Hess, Cross Country/Track & Field
1982	Jim Bagnall, Baseball
1981	Ted Staren, Tennis
1980	Joe Nehls, Football
1979	Jeff Whitton, Football


Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D