Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Women?s Swim and Dive Travel to West Lafayette for NCAA Championships
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 17, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

This Week in the Pool ?-The No. 6 Arizona women’s swimming and diving team is set to compete at the 2005 NCAA Championships on March 17-19 at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center in West Lafayette, Ind. Preliminary action will start at 11 a.m. (EST) and finals will begin at 7 p.m. each day.


A Look at the Wildcats ?- The women’s team will feature 11 swimmers and two divers at this year’s national championships, who will compete in 26 individual events, five relays and three diving events. The Wildcats are currently ranked No. 6 with a 9-2 overall record (6-1 Pac-10), posting only two losses to No. 4 Texas and the fifth-ranked Stanford Cardinal. The Wildcats recently completed competition at the 2005 Pac-10 Championships on February 26 in Seattle, Wash. as they finished second with 1,237 points, a total of four conference titles and posted a new meet record.


Who’s Qualified for NCAA’s -

Name                        Event(s)

Daniela Bemme*                        Diving

Courtney Cashion                      200 free/ 100 free/ 50 free

Claire Febvay                            Diving

Jenna Gresdal *                        50 free/ 100 free/ 100 back

Ryann Hackett *                        400 free relay

Jessica Hayes *                        200 free/ 100 back/ 200 back

Emily Mason *                          500 free/ 400 IM/ 200 fly

Whitney Myers *                        200 IM/ 100 fly/ 200 fly

Lacey Nymeyer                         50 free/ 200 free/ 100 free

Lisa Pursley                             100 fly/ 200 fly

Erin Sieper *                             100 breast/ 200 breast

Marshi Smith *                          50 free/ 100 back/ 200 back

Emily Strouse                           400 IM


*  - Indicates athlete is a returning NCAA competitor and 2004 First Team All-American.


The Competition: The Wildcats will have their work cut out for them this week as they take on the best teams in the nation. The top-teams to defeat are the No. 1 Georgia Bulldogs, who went undefeated in the dual-meet season. Also, No. 2 Auburn, the defending NCAA Champions, along with No. 3 Florida and the fourth-ranked Texas Longhorns.


What Happened Last Year - The women completed the 2004 NCAA Championships in third place with 369 points. Emily Mason was the single NCAA champion for the Wildcats in the 400-meter freestyle setting a new NCAA record with a time of 4:01.58. The women set a total of 10 school records over the course of the Championships.


Head swimming coach Frank Busch was recognized with the completion of the meet as the 2004 NCAA women’s swimming Coach of the year. He was also named the 2004 Pac-10 women’s coach of the year for the fourth time in his career.


Last Week in the Pool - The Arizona men’s and women’s diving teams competed at the Zone ?'E’ Diving Championships on March 10-12 in Oklahoma City, Okla. The women completed the final event at the championships qualifying seniors Claire Febvay and Daniela Bemme for the NCAA Championships.


Fevay finished third in the 10-meter platform event with 419.20 points, and Bemme finished sixth with 397.30 points, which qualified both divers to compete with the swim team at the NCAA Championships.


            Also in the platform diving finals, sophomore Megan McDonald finished 14th (334.90 points) and senior Megan Chambers finished 15th (331.05 points).


2005 Pac-10 Champions - Senior Emily Mason took the first Pac-10 title in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:41.21. Junior Jenna Gresdal, senior Jessica Hayes, junior Marshi Smith and freshman Courtney Cashion took the second title for the Wildcats in the 200-yard free relay, setting a new Pac-10 meet record with a time of 1:30.07. Cal set the previous record in 2002 with a time of 1:30.47. Smith is also the co-Pac-10 champion in the 100-yard backstroke as she tied with freshman Katie Arnold from UCLA with a time of 53.22. For the fourth and final conference title, the 400-yard free relay team composed of junior Ryann Hackett, Cashion, Gresdal and freshman Lacey Nymeyer won with a time of 3:18.01.

Arizona NCAA Championships History ?- Since 1991, the Arizona women have finished in the top ten at the NCAA Championships. While the Wildcats have never taken a national team title, there have been a total of 18 individual champions. With the exception of the 2003 NCAA Championships, the women have posted at least one individual champion every year since 1995.


Past NCAA Championships:
Year   Place   Points

2004     3rd             369
2003     9th             209
2002     5th             291
2001     5th             304
2000     2nd             472

1999     4th             332
1998     2nd            378
1997     4th             351.5
1996     6th             251
1995     5th                    250
1994     10th             151
1993     6th             250
1992     5th             272
1991     7th             163   


Individual Rankings (Top-10)



Event       Name                    Rank                                             Time

50 Free    Jenna Gresdal       4th                                                22.52

100 Free   Lacey Nymeyer   3rd                                                 48.80

                 Jenna Gresdal       9th                                                  48.90

200 Free   Emily Mason       9th                                                   1:46.26

500 Free   Emily Mason       2nd                                               4:40.51

100 Back   Marshi Smith     2nd                                                    53.15

                   Jenna Gresdal     7th                                                 53.68

200 Back    Jessica Hayes    10th                                               1:55.93

100 Breast   Erin Sieper         8th                                               1:01.16

200 Breast    Erin Sieper        4th                                               2:11.29

100 Fly         Whitney Myers  3rd                                                52.89

200 Fly         Emily Mason      4th                                              1:55.40

                    Whitney Myers   7th                                               1:56.11

200 IM       Whitney Myers    5th                                              1:58.38

400 IM       Emily Mason        7th                                                4:12.37

200 Free Relay                         4th                                               1:30.07

400 Free Relay                         4th                                               3:17.55

400 Medley Relay                   6th                                               3:38.30

800 Free Relay                         7th                                                7:10.53



Arizona’s Next Action ?- The men’s swimming and diving team will bring 12 swimmers and one diver to their respective NCAA Championships, which will be held in Minneapolis, Minn. on March 24-26.




Margo Geer P12 WOTY