Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Baseball Falls to New Mexico, 13-3
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 18, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

            ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. ?- The Arizona baseball team dropped a 13-3 decision to New Mexico in a non-conference game at Isotopes Park in Albuquerque, N.M., on Tuesday. The loss was UA’s third straight and dropped the Wildcats 15-19 on the year. New Mexico, which won a season series against UA for the first time since 1994, improved to 24-12 overall with the victory.


            The Lobos took advantage of three walks and used three hits, including run-scoring singles by Daniel Stovall and Dane Hamilton, to open a 3-0 lead in the first inning. UA starter Cory Burns (0-2), who was charged with the loss, lasted just the one frame before giving way to Matt Baugh.


            UNM tacked on single runs in the second and fourth innings off of Baugh, before Arizona’s Brad Glenn, who went 3 for 4 on Tuesday, tied classmate Jon Gaston for the team home run lead with his fourth of the year in the fifth.


The solo blast to left cut the UNM lead to 5-1, and ended the shutout bid for Lobo starter Quentin Andes, but the right-handed Arizona State transfer limited the Wildcats to  two runs on 11 hits over a career-high eight innings pitched to improve to 2-0 on the year. He struck out five and walked one.


In the sixth, the Lobos sent 11 hitters to the plate and added five more runs on five hits, a hit batter and a walk to push their advantage to 10-1, then tacked three runs in the seventh on RBI-double Ryan Barba and a two run homer by Chris Carlson for a 13-1 lead.


UNM leadoff hitter Jordan Pacheco paced the offensive outburst, finishing 4 for 6 with a double, a RBI and three runs scored on the afternoon. All nine Lobo starters finished with at least one hit and six with two or more.


Arizona will return to Tucson to host Stanford in a Pac-10 series at Kindall Field this Friday-Saturday. First pitch for the three-game set on Friday is set for 7 p.m.


2016 College World Series