Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Trevor Crowe A Finalist For 2005 Golden Spikes Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 25, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

            TUCSON, Ariz. ?- Arizona junior Trevor Crowe has been named one of the five finalists for the prestigious Golden Spikes Award presented to the nation’s top collegiate baseball player, USA Baseball announced today.


            “It’s quite an honor for Trevor to have made the final cut for the Golden Spikes Award,” Arizona head coach Andy Lopez said. “He’s in good company with the four other finalists, all of whom are having the type of season that warrants recognition on a national scale. I’m very happy for Trevor and his family.”


Recognized as one of the most revered honors in amateur sport, the presentation of the Golden Spikes Award also underscores the commitment of USA Baseball and Major League baseball players to support the development of baseball from the grassroots level.


The five finalists for the 2005 Golden Spikes Award are listed alphabetically as follows:


Ryan Braun  - Miami (Fla) -  IF  - Jr.

Third baseman is currently leading the Hurricanes in most offensive categories including hits (79), runs scored (68), home runs (16) and RBI (70) while posting a .418 batting average. 11th all-time finalist from Miami (one winner - Burrell '98).


Jeff Clement  - Southern California - C  - Jr.

Considered one of the top catchers in the nation, the talented backstop is currently leading the Trojans in most offensive categories including hits (67), doubles (17), home runs (11) and RBI (44) while posting a team-high .358 batting average. 7th all-time finalist from USC (one winner - Prior '01).


Trevor Crowe  - Arizona  - OF - Jr.

The Wildcat outfielder is the Pac-10 leader in no less then eight offensive categories, including a .429 batting average with 76 runs scored, 24 doubles, 13 triples, nine home runs, 53 RBI and 23 stolen bases. 3rd all-time finalist from Arizona (one winner - Francona '80). 


Alex Gordon  - Nebraska  - IF  - Jr.

The Huskers' third baseman enters this week's Big 12 Tournament hitting .396 with 16 homers and 53 RBI. The first-team All-American ranks among the Big 12 leaders in 11 of 12 categories. 3rd all-time finalist from Nebraska (no previous winners).


Luke Hochevar  - Tennessee  - RHP  - Jr.

The 2005 Southeastern Conference Pitcher of the Year leads the NCAA with 13 wins this season and ranks first in the SEC with 123 strikeouts, 42 batters struck out looking and 111.2 innings pitched. 3rd all-time finalist from Tennessee (no previous winners).   


Two of the five schools will be hoping to have a player capture the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award for the very first time (Nebraska & Tennessee), while Miami, USC & Arizona are each looking for their second trophy. Miami has had 10 previous finalists, with Pat Burrell capturing the GSA in 1998. USC has had six previous finalists, with Mark Prior bringing home the hardware in 2001. Arizona's Crowe is the third Wildcat to be named a finalist and first since Alan Zinter in 1989. Arizona's Terry Francona won the GSA in 1980. 


All five players are junior classmen, making them eligible for the upcoming Major League Baseball player entry draft in June. The USA Baseball Golden Field Award - given to the Athletic Department and Head Coach of the Golden Spikes Award winner - has gone to 21 different schools. 


The 2005 Golden Spikes Award winner will be announced during the broadcast of the 28th Annual Golden Spikes Award show at a date and time still to be determined. The broadcast, presented in conjunction with the Major League Baseball Players Association, will also highlight USA Baseball's athlete programs as well as some of the various organizational youth baseball initiatives supported by USA Baseball and the MLBPA.


"USA Baseball is once again proud to recognize the inspiring performances of the nation's top collegiate baseball players. We also appreciate our ongoing relationship with the Major League Baseball Players Association and the undying support Major Leaguers display in helping amateur baseball players, especially at the grassroots level," said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director / CEO.


For the past 27 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State in 1978, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship.


The 2004 Golden Spikes Award winner was Jered Weaver of Long Beach State University. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball stars such as Khalil Greene ('02), Mark Prior ('01), Jason Jennings ('00), Pat Burrell (â€?˜98), J.D. Drew ('97), Travis Lee ('96), Mark Kotsay ('95), Jason Varitek ('94), Darren Dreifort ('93), and Phil Nevin ('92). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Alex Fernandez ('90), Ben McDonald ('89), Robin Ventura ('88), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79), and Bob Horner ('78).


The MLBPA ( is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the National League and the American League and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League baseball players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and Players Choice events, which benefit the needy through the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League baseball players.


USA Baseball is the National Governing Body of amateur baseball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The organization selects and trains the USA Baseball Olympic Team, the USA Baseball National Team, the USA Baseball Junior National team (18-under), and the USA Baseball Youth National Team (16-under) which participate in various international competitions each year.


2016 College World Series