Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
20070703 Holmes Named to Hendricks Award List
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: July 03, 2007
Related Links


CHICAGO--Arizona senior football player Louis Holmes has been named to the watch list for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, the Hendricks Foundation announced today.


Previous recipients include some of the nationˇ?s premier edge rushers in Terrell Suggs of Arizona State, David Pollack of Georgia, Elvis Dumervil of Louisville and LaMarr Woodley of Michigan last year.


Holmes was a second-team All-Pacific-10 Conference selection in his first season at UA in 2006 after arriving in August as a junior college transfer. He had 36 tackles, four sacks, forced two fumbles and recovered one, plus knocked down three passes. He is one of two Pac-10 players on the watch list along with USCˇ?s Lawrence Jackson.


He joins Arizona senior cornerback Antoine Cason as a top candidate for 2007 honors. Cason has been named to the Ronnie Lott and Bronko Nagurski defensive player awards lists and is expected to re-emerge as a leading contender for the Jim Thorpe Award, for which he was a semifinalist as a junior.


UA defensive ends coach Joe Robinson said, ˇ?The fact Louis received this early notoriety is indicative of the direction of our program and where Louis is headed as a football player. He has a lot of football ahead of him,ˇ± he said. ˇ?We see him improving every day and are excited about what weˇ?ll see him do on the field this fall and as a senior leader for us,ˇ± Robinson said. "His potential is boundless."


The Hendricks award is named in honor of college footballˇ?s first three-time first team All American at Miami and eventual All-Pro star who was on four Super Bowl champion NFL teams (one with the Colts and three with the Raiders) and later inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


Hendricksˇ? aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determined effort are qualities the foundation looks for in recipients. Leadership abilities and contributions to school and community, and academic preparedness are other criteria used to determine the awardˇ?s winner.


Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are ?included in the 125 members of the award voting committee. Semifinalists will be announced in early November and up to five finalists announced Nov. 26. The Hendricks Award announcement will be on Dec. 6, with the formal presentation made at the Hendricks Award Gala in March 2008.


Other candidates may emerge after the start of the season. This yearˇ?s preseason candidates are:


Tommy Blake, TCU SR, 6ˇ?3ˇ± 260

Ben Calderwood, Utah State JR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 268

Calais Campbell, Miami JR, 6ˇ?8ˇ± 280

Ian Campbell, Kansas State JR, 6ˇ?5ˇ± 240

Joe Clermond, PITT SR, 6ˇ?3ˇ± 260

Tyler Clutts, Fresno State SR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 245

Bruce Davis, UCLA SR, 6ˇ?3ˇ± 230

Larry English, Northern Illinois JR, 6ˇ?3ˇ± 255

Vernon Gholston, Ohio State JR, 6ˇ?4ˇ± 265

Wallace Gilberry, Alabama SR, 6ˇ?4ˇ± 265

Quentin Groves, Auburn SR, 6ˇ?4ˇ± 255

Chris Harrington, Texas A&M SR, 6ˇ?4ˇ± 245

Derrick Harvey, Florida SO, 6ˇ?5ˇ± 235

Louis Holmes, Arizona SR, 6ˇ?6ˇ± 265

Phillip Hunt, Houston JR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 250

Lawrence Jackson, USC JR, 6ˇ?5ˇ± 265

Tyson Jackson, LSU JR, 6ˇ?5ˇ± 295

Tavares Jones, Middle Tennessee St. SR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 242

Brian Johnston, Gardner-Webb SR, 6ˇ?5ˇ± 280

Nick Larkin, Boston College SR, 6ˇ?4ˇ± 250

Chris Long, Virginia SR, 6ˇ?4ˇ± 278

Jameel McClain, Syracuse SR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 248

Albert McClellan, Marshall JR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 210

Jesse Nading, Colorado State SR, 6ˇ?5ˇ± 258

Chase Ortiz, TCU SR, 6ˇ?3ˇ± 255

Nathan Peterson, Oklahoma State SR, 6ˇ?2ˇ± 240

Mat Shaugnessey, Wisconsin JR, 6ˇ?6ˇ± 250

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets