Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcats Fall to Second after Day Two of Texas Invitational
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 03, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Austin, Texas ?- The Arizona men’s and women’s swimming teams completed the second day at the 2005 Texas Invitational with both teams falling to second-place while breaking two school records and posting eight automatic qualifying times between the two teams.


            The Wildcats now tally a total of 20 automatic qualifying times and 22 consideration times throughout two days of competition. The women are currently post 481 team points and the men post 447 points.


            “We look a lot better tonight compared to last night, but we’re still not in a perfect place,” Head coach Frank Busch said. “We need to perfect some strokes and turns, but I’m happy with the turnout of tonight’s competition.”


            On the women’s side, senior Jenna Gresdal broke the school record in the 100 backstroke with a time of 52.63. The record was formerly held by senior Marshi Smith, who posted a time of 52.82 at the 2005 NCAA Championships, which also crowned her as the National champion in the race. Smith finished fourth in the race with a consideration time of 54.68 while seniors Ryann Hackett and Lisa Pursley posted consideration times as well.


            The women began with the 200 medley relay composed of Gresdal, senior Erin Sieper, freshman Haley DeGolia and sophomore Lacey Nymeyer with an NCAA consideration time of 1:39.91. Junior Whitney Myers automatically qualified for the 400 IM during this morning’s preliminary action with a time of 4:13.25 while junior Emily Strouse finished eighth in finals with a time of 4:26.92.


            In the 200 freestyle, Nymeyer posted an NCAA automatic qualifying time, while winning the race with a time of 1:45.59 and Myers finished third with an automatic qualifying time of 1:46.08. Sieper finished second in the 100 breaststroke posting an automatic qualifying time of 1:01.37.  


For the men’s side, sophomore Ivan Barnes broke the school record in the100 breaststroke with a time of 52.87, which was formerly held by Greg Owen (53.37).


            “I am very proud of Jenna and Ivan,” said head coach Frank Busch. “They gave two very good performances tonight and these two deserve this accomplishment because they both work extra hard in practice and constantly give it their all in order to succeed.”


The 200 medley relay composed of seniors Simon Burnett, Dave Rollins, sophomore Albert Subirats and senior Simon Burnett posted an automatic qualifying time of 1:25.93, also taking first-place.


            Burnett also won the 200 freestyle with an automatic qualifying time of 1:33.57, while junior Adam Ritter placed ninth, posting and automatic qualifying time of 1:35.07. Sophomore Jonas Persson, senior Tyler DeBerry and Ferns posted consideration times in the race as well.


            Along with Barnes in the 100 breaststroke, Rollins finished third with a consideration time of 54.53. Finally, in the 100 backstroke, Subirats posted yet another consideration time of 47.48.


            Competition at the Texas Invitational will conclude tomorrow at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center. Preliminary action will begin at 10 a.m. (CST) and finals start at 6 p.m.


Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D