Official Secondary Ticket Marketplace
Williams Earns All-District Kudos from NABC
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 09, 2011
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

March 9, 2011

NABC All-District Teams in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona men's basketball player Derrick Williams received all-district honors, as the National Association of Basketball Coaches announced its all-district honors today.

Williams was a first-team all-District 20 selection in voting done by member coaches. He was joined on the first team by Klay Thompson of Washington State, Nikola Vucevic of USC and Isaiah Thomas and Matthew Bryan-Amaning of Washington.

A 6-foot-8, 241-pound sophomore forward from La Mirada, Calif., Williams leads Arizona with per-game averages of 18.8 points and 8.2 rebounds, to go with a .612 (177-of-289) field goal percentage through 31 appearances (all starts). He has scored in double figures 30 times, posted 10 double-doubles and has the two highest single-game rebounding totals in the Pac-10 this season (19 at Washington State on Jan. 22 and 18 at California on Feb. 5).

The 2011 Pac-10 Player of the Year leads the conference in field goal percentage, has connected on 60.4 percent (29-of-48) of his three-point field goal attempts and ranks in the top 10 in four other statistical categories within the conference: scoring (2nd), rebounding (5th), offensive rebounds (2.8 orpg/5th) and defensive rebounds (5.4 drpg/5th).

He was a second-team NABC all-District 20 pick last season.

Williams' selection marked the 90th Arizona player to earn all-district honors from the NABC since 1952. He is eligible for NABC All-America honors, which will be announced on April 2.

Arizona (25-6, 14-4 Pac-10) will next be in action on Thursday, March 10, at the 2011 Pacific Life Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament. The top-seeded Wildcats face either No. 8 seed Stanford or No. 9 seed Oregon State at 2:40 p.m. PST. The game will be televised nationally by FSN.

National Association of Basketball Coaches
2011 All-District 20 Team

First Team
Matthew Bryan-Amaning, Washington
Klay Thompson, Washington State
Isaiah Thomas, Washington
Nikola Vucevic, USC
Derrick Williams, Arizona

Second Team
Joevan Catron, Oregon
Jeremy Green, Stanford
Harper Kamp, California
Malcolm Lee, UCLA
Reeves Nelson, UCLA

#OurHouse Rocks Slider
McDonals Red Blue Game Tickets Slider
Uploaded Ad
Football vs BYU Tickets