Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Arizona's Annie Chandler One of 30 Nominees for NCAA Woman of the Year
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: August 23, 2011
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Aug. 23, 2011


Former Arizona swimmer Annie Chandler (San Antonio, Texas) is one of 30 honorees chosen for the 2011 NCAA Woman of the Year award, the NCAA announced on Tuesday. The award is chosen by a selection committee of representatives from various NCAA schools and conferences. This year a record 471 nominations were submitted for the award that will be presented later this fall.

The Woman of the Year Award, now in its 21st year, honors female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academic achievement, athletic excellence, community service and leadership. The prestigious program also involves a community service initiative that gives honorees the opportunity to interact with each other and with young girls in the city of Indianapolis who look to them as role models. 

Sharon Beverly, NCAA Woman of the Year selection chair and director of athletics & physical education at Vassar College, describes the award as one of the highest and most prestigious honors presented to a female student-athlete each year.  

“This award catapults the recipient into the next phase of her life and paves the way for a successful future in any chosen profession,” Beverly said.  “When you consider the academic and athletic accomplishments of each of the candidates for this award and the ways they have given back to society, the Woman of the Year honorees are the top echelon of NCAA role models.” 

Every NCAA member institution is encouraged to honor its top graduating female student-athlete by submitting her name for consideration.  Each conference assesses the eligibility of its members’ nominees and selects at least one student-athlete to represent the conference.   To be eligible for the award, a female student-athlete must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2011 spring season, graduated no later than the end of the summer 2011 term and achieved a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.5.  

The NCAA recently honored 142 women representing NCAA athletic conferences and independent schools for their accomplishments.   The selection committee will now narrow the Top 30 to three finalists from each division to form the Top Nine, which will be announced in early September.   The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will select the national winner from the Top Nine honorees.   The 2011 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced during the Woman of the Year dinner in Indianapolis on Oct. 16.   Last year’s NCAA Woman of the Year was Justine Schluntz, a 2010 Rhodes Scholar, swimmer and mechanical engineering major, from the University of Arizona.

Chandler was named Pac-10 Woman of the Year earlier this month.




List of Honorees:

Laura Barito, Stevens Institute of Technology: Cross Country, Swimming, Outdoor Track

Danielle Blair, Alabama: Soccer

Michaela Calnan, Bowdoin College: Field Hockey, Ice Hockey

Whitney Carlson, North Dakota State: Indoor and Outdoor Track

Catherine Carr, Holy Family University: Basketball

Annie Chandler, Arizona: Swimming

Diane Da Silva, College of Saint Elizabeth: Basketball, Softball, Lacrosse

Audra Egenolf, SMU: Swimming

Hayley Emerick, Trinity: Swimming

Molly Evans, Carnegie Mellon: Swimming

Kristina Frahm, Maryland Eastern Shore: Bowling

Shannon Gagne, University of New Haven: Indoor and Outdoor Track

Stormi Gale, Wingate: Volleyball

Courtney Hammond, Dartmouth: Skiing

Victoria Hansen, West Liberty: Basketball

Nicole Horn, Henderson State: Swimming

Grace Johnson, Georgia: Gymnastics

Colleen Kelly, Babson: Field Hockey

Hewenfei Elwen Li, BYU: Tennis

Marcia McCord, Ithaca: Indoor and Outdoor Track

Maya Moore, Connecticut: Basketball

Alida Muller-Wehlau, Armstrong Atlantic State: Tennis

Samantha Murphy, Grand Canyon: Basketball

Katalin Navarre, Denison: Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track

Maria Peloquin, Wisconsin Eau Claire: Cross Country and Indoor Track

Kelly Phillips, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University: Indoor and Outdoor Track

Barbara Pocza, Barry: Tennis

Sarah Stephens, Frostburg State: Tennis and Volleyball

Renee Tomlin, Georgetown: Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track

Kelsey Ward, Drury: Swimming








Margo Geer P12 WOTY