Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Three Cats In World University Games
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: October 07, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Arizona junior pitcher Alicia Hollowell, sophomore center fielder Caitlin Lowe and sophomore shortstop Kristie Fox were named today to the roster for the World University Games for Softball in Plant City, Fla., later this month.

The three Wildcats are among 16 national players selected to the team by USA Softball. They become part of the current USA Softball Women's Elite Team and will compete in play against a 10-country field during the event Oct. 26-31. The roster contains players from eight different universities.

The United States team will play all nine other countries in the tourney in qualifying play before medal rounds begin. Other countries invited include China, Japan, The Netherlands, Australia, Russia, Chinese Taipei, Guatemala, Canada and Uganda.

"It's a credit to all three players and to our program for them to be selected by USA Softball for this event," UA head coach Mike Candrea said. Candrea recently completed a two-year stint as head coach for the U.S. Olympic team that won the gold medal in the Athens games last summer. Four Arizona players were involved -- medalists in Lovie Jung, Leah O'Brien-Amico and Jennie Finch, and alternate Nicole Giordano.

Hollowell, Lowe and Fox will be featured in Tucson action later this month in UA's fall tournament at Hillenbrand Stadium Oct. 15-17.

The other 13 players selected for the 2004 USA Softball Women’s Elite Team are Monica Abbott of Tennessee, Caitlin Benyi of UCLA, Sara Dean of Auburn, Norrelle Dickson of Oklahoma, Lisa Dodd of UCLA, Andrea Duan of UCLA, Vicky Galindo of California, Amy Harre of Southern Illinois, Kami Keiter of Oklahoma, Jodie Legaspi of UCLA, Catalina Morris of Stanford, Heather Scaglione of Oklahoma and Emiy Zaplatosch of UCLA.

Morris also is a Southern Arizonan, from Sonoita. Keiter, Dickson and Scaglione were instrumental in helping oust Pac-10 Champion Arizona from the NCAA Championships last May in action at Hillenbrand Stadium. The Sooners went on to reach the Women's College World Series, where UCLA prevailed.

The 2004 Elite Team will be led by head coach Jay Miller of Mississippi State and assistants Michelle Gromacki of Cal State Fullerton and Kirk Walker of Oregon State.