Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Lowe one of 10 Finalists for Player of the Year
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: May 10, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

OKLAHOMA CITY--Arizona center fielder Caitlin Lowe was named today as one of 10 finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award.

Lowe is second nationally with a .513 batting average and leads Arizona with 80 hits, 45 runs scored and 27 stolen bases. She ranks in the top 15 in runs and stolen bases per game.

She became one of 10 finalists for the honor for the second consecutive year. She and teammates Alicia Hollowell and Kristie Fox were named to the original watch list in April. Three finalists will be selected at the end of this month and attend ceremonies at the Women's College World Series here for the presentation of the award.

Earlier today, Lowe and Hollowell were named to a list of 32 players selected for the USA National Team tryout camp in California in June.

Previous winners include former UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman in 2002, current Texas pitcher Cat Osterman in 2003 and former Florida State pitcher/outfielder Jessica van der Linden last year.

The ten finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Monica Abbott (Tennessee)

Sophomore pitcher

Salinas, Calif.

Caitlin Lowe (Arizona)

Sophomore outfielder

Tustin, Calif.

Jessica Merchant (Michigan)

Senior shortstop

Wayland, Mich.

Cat Osterman (Texas)

Junior pitcher

Houston, Texas

Jennie Ritter (Michigan)

Junior pitcher

Dexter, Mich.

Kristen Rivera (Washington)

Senior catcher

Perris, Calif.

Heather Scaglione (Oklahoma)

Senior catcher

San Diego, Calif.

Amanda Scarborough (Texas A&M)

Freshman pitcher

Magnolia, Texas

Jamie Southern (Fresno State)

Senior pitcher/utility

Clovis, Calif.

Kristin Vesely (Oklahoma)

Junior outfielder

Phoenix, Ariz.