Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcats Win 2006 Texas Invitational
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 03, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Austin, Texas- The Arizona men’s and women’s swim team completed the final day of competition at the 2006 Texas Invitational with both teams finishing first for the second consecutive year. The women won with 859 team points and the men posted 787 points, while breaking eight school records over the course of three days.


            The women added 10 NCAA automatic qualifying times during tonight’s competition for a total of 27. Beginning with the 200 back, freshman Caitlin Iversen finished third overall with an automatic qualifying time of 1:55.85, while sophomore Kathryn Thompson finished fourth with an automatic qualifying time of 1:57.69.


            Freshman Joni Zimmerman began tonight’s action for the women, as she finished second in the 1650 free with a U.S. National qualifying time of 16:27.22.


            Three Wildcat women posted three automatic qualifying times in the 100 free as junior Lacey Nymeyer finished first, while breaking her own school record with a time of 48.29. Sophomore Lara Jackson finished third in the event (49.43) and sophomore Anna Turner finished fourth (49.48), while sophomore Taylor Baughman finished fifth with a consideration time of 49.91.


            Junior Jacquelyn Craft finished fourth in the 200 breast, automatically qualifying for NCAAs with a time of 2:12.23. Senior Whitney Myers finished second in the 200 fly with an automatic qualifying time of 1:55.17, while freshman Jenny Forster finished fourth with an automatic qualifying time of 1:58.96 and freshman Ana Agy finished sixth (2:00.66).


            For the final event of the competition, the 400 free relay ?'A’ team of Jackson, Baughman, Turner and Nymeyer finished first with an automatic qualifying time of 3:16.45 and the ?'B’ team of junior Brandy Collins, freshman Andrea Boritzke, Myers and sophomore Lindsey Kelly finished third with an automatic qualifying time of 3:17.85.


On the men’s side, four automatic qualifying times were added for a total of 14 over three days. Starting the meet for the Wildcats was sophomore David Pursley, who finished fifth with an NCAA consideration time of 15:18.35, and junior Matt Biel finished seventh with a U.S. National qualifying time of 15:35.13.


            Freshman Jake Tapp finished second in the 200 back with a time of 1:44.07, a time that was only .05 seconds away from automatically qualifying for the NCAA Championships.


The Wildcat men swept the 100 free posting the top-five fastest times in the country as junior Albert Subirats won with and automatic qualifying time of 42.52. Senior Adam Ritter and sophomore Nicolas Nilo finished second (43.11) and third (43.31), both posting automatic qualifying times, as junior Darian Townsend finished fourth (43.50) and freshman Joel Greensides finished fifth (43.63).


            Junior Ivan Barnes finished seventh with a consideration time of 2:00.45 and freshman Jack Brown won the ?'B’ finals, placing 10th overall, with a time of 2:01.62. In the 200 fly, junior Darren Maxwell finished fifth with a personal best time of 1:47.13.


Closing out the meet for the men was the 400 free relay ?'A’ team of Ritter, Townsend, freshman Joel Greenshields and Nilo, who won with an automatic qualifying time of 2:51.42, and the ?'B’ team of freshman Jordan Smith, Subirats, freshman Jean Basson and freshman Tyler Svendsen finished second with a consideration time of 2:56.43.


            The swimming and diving teams will continue dual-meet competition at the Hillenbrand Aquatic Center when they return from winter break on Jan. 5, 2006 at 2 p.m. (MST) as the women take on Northern Arizona and Oregon State, while the men only compete against California and Michigan.

Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D