Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Grado, Ojeda Sweep Pac-12 Diving Awards
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 09, 2012
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

April 9, 2012

TUCSON, Ariz. -

Senior Ben Grado (Conifer, Colo.) and diving coach Omar Ojeda were named Pac-12 diver and coach of the year, Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott announced on Monday.

Grado became the first diver to sweep all three events at the Pac-12 Championships since Arizona State’s Micky Benedetti in 2008. He was the first Wildcat to capture a Conference title since Ojeda won six events from 2001 to 2002.

Grado then capped his collegiate career by becoming the first diver in Arizona history to win the platform title at the NCAA Championships in Federal Way, Wash., with a score of 487.25. He also placed ninth on the 1-meter and 3-meter.

Ojeda completed his first season leading his alma mater. He coached two of his divers, Andres Guerra and Grado, at the NCAA Championships. Ojeda was a five-time All-American for Arizona from 2000 to 2002, earning Pac-10 Men’s Diver of the Year in 2001 and 2002.

For complete results and continued coverage of Arizona Men’s Swimming, visit or follow @ArizonaSwimming on Twitter.


Women's Swimming:

Swimmer of the Year – Caitlin Leverenz, Cal

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – Maddy Schaefer, Stanford

Coach of the Year – Teri McKeever, Cal

Men's Swimming:

Swimmer of the Year – Tom Shields, Cal

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – David Nolan, Stanford

Coach of the Year – David Durden, Cal

Women's Diving:

Diver of the Year – Victoria Ishimatsu, USC

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – Emma Ivory-Ganja, UCLA

Coach of the Year – Hongping Li, USC

Men's Diving:

Diver of the Year – Ben Grado, Arizona

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – Kristian Ipsen, Stanford

Coach of the Year – Omar Ojeda, Arizona

Margo Geer P12 WOTY
Bear Down Challenge M S&D