Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcats Travel to Tempe for Final Dual-Meet of the Season
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: February 10, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Feb. 10, 2004

This Week in the Pool - The seventh-ranked Arizona women's swimming and diving team and the eighth-ranked Arizona men's team will travel to Tempe, Ariz. To take on the Arizona State Sun Devils for the final dual-meet of the season at 1 p.m. (MST).

A Look at the Opponents - The Arizona State men's team is currently ranked 15th with a 3-4 overall record. The last competition for the men was against California where they fell to the No. 4 Golden Bears 166-128. The women's swimming and diving team is currently ranked 21st with a 2-7 overall record. The Sun Devils recently fell to No. 8 Cal 185-110.

Last Time in the Water - The Arizona women's swimming and diving team defeated No. 5 Texas 194-156 Saturday, January 31 after two days of competition with the Longhorns. The No. 7 Arizona men fell to the No. 2 Texas men's team 174-164.

Junior Emily Mason swam her way to victory in the 1650-yard freestyle (16:46.83) and taking third place was freshman Melissa Johnson (17:27.67). Junior Jessica Hayes was first in the 200-yard freestyle (1:50.58) and sophomore Katie Willis was not far behind in second place (1:51.25).

Senior Jessica Wagner won the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:02.36 and freshman Whitney Myers took home a victory as well winning the 200-yard Individual Medley (2:05.73).

On the boards for he women, senior Daniela Bemme won the 1-meter competition with 276.37 points. Freshman Mary Yarrison won the 3-meter diving with 305.70 points and Bemme placed second with 275.48 points.

The men's swimming and diving team trailed Texas by 50 points starting Saturday's competition. While the Wildcats made a comeback, they were unable to pull out a victory. Sophomore Tyler DeBerry was the winner of the 1650-yard freestyle with a time of 15:48.53.

Sophomores Lyndon Ferns and Simon Burnett swam neck-and-neck in the 200-yard freestyle where Ferns placed first (1:39.22) and Burnett placed second (1:39.25). Ferns also won the 50-yard freestyle, where he is currently ranked No. 1 in the NCAA, in a time of 20.32.

Sophomore Dave Rollins won the 100-yard breaststroke (57.11) as well as the 200-yard Individual Medley (1:52.69). Senior Juan Veloz was first in the 200-yard butterfly in a time of 1:48.97. To end the meet, the 400-yard freestyle relay team of Ferns, senior Eric La Fleur, Burnett, and freshman Adam Ritter won in a time of 3:00.10.

For the men's diving team, senior Alex Vollelunga took second place in the 1-meter diving competition with 289.50 points. In the 3-meter diving competition, senior Josh Anderson was first (347.17) and teammate John Collier was second (298.42).

Flying Ferns - Sophomore Lyndon Ferns broke two records in the last day of competition at the Texas Invitational on Dec. 6th. Ferns swam the 100-yard freestyle in a time of 42.40 breaking the Arizona record held by NCAA Champion Ronald Schoeman, who set the record in 2000 with a time of 42.56. Ferns later broke the 49-second mark swimming the 100-meter freestyle in 48.99, breaking the South African record held by former Arizona Wildcat Ryk Neesling, one of the most decorated NCAA champions of all time.

Back in Action- Sophomore Simon Burnett returns to the Wildcats for the second semester after training for the 2004 Olympic games in Britain. Burnett took home the NCAA title in the 200-freestyle as a freshman in a time of 1:33.69

Best of the Boards - Freshman Mary Yarrison and senior Josh Anderson finished their three-day competition at the 2004 FINA World Cup Diving Trials successfully finishing in fifth and sixth-place, respectively. Yarrison partnered up with freshman Cassidy Krug from Stanford University for the three-meter synchronized dive. The freshman duo posted a final score of 497.85 to earn fifth place in the competition. Josh Anderson qualified for individual competition on the 10-meter platform, finishing with 801.30 points for sixth place.

Head Coach Frank Busch - Head coach Frank Busch enters his 15th year at the helm of the UA swimming and diving program. Busch has transformed University of Arizona swimming into one of the nation's most powerful programs. Busch enters the new year with a continued commitment to bringing honor to the University of Arizona through the success of its swimming and diving program. Busch has been named Pac-10 Women's Coach of the Year three times, Pac-10 Men's Coach of the Year two times, and he earned NCAA Division I-A Coach of the Year honors in 1993.

Head Diving Coach Michele Mitchell-Rocha - Head coach Michele Mitchell-Rocha enters her eighth year with the Wildcat diving program. Mitchell-Rocha is a four-time recipient of the men's Pac-10 Diving Coach of the Year.

Arizona's Next Action - The Arizona women's swimming team will travel to Long Beach, Calif., to compete in the Pac-10 Swimming Championships on Feb. 26-28. The men's and women's diving teams will travel to Seattle, Wash., on Feb. 26-28 as well to compete in the Pac-10 Diving Championships.

Margo Geer P12 WOTY