Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Bruschi Earns Walter Camp Honor
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: December 02, 2010
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Dec. 2, 2010

Courtesy Walter Camp Foundation

NEW HAVEN, Conn.--Former NFL All-Pro linebacker and Wildcat Tedy Bruschi is the recipient of the 2010 Walter Camp "Alumni Award." Bruschi joins a distinguished list of former "Alumni Award" winners, including Alan Page (Notre Dame), Bo Jackson (Auburn), Tony Dorsett (Pittsburgh), Herschel Walker (Georgia), Mark May (Pittsburgh) and last year's recipient, David Fulcher (Arizona State).

The Walter Camp "Alumni of the Year" award is bestowed on a worthy individual who has distinguished himself in the pursuit of excellence as an athlete, in his personal career and in doing good works for others. He must be an individual who has exhibited dedication and good moral conduct in achieving success. He must be a compassionate and unselfish person who contributes his time and assistance in helping to encourage and comfort fellow human beings less talented and less fortunate than himself. He must be an individual who takes pride in having been a Walter Camp All-American.

"We are pleased to recognize Tedy Bruschi with the Walter Camp Alumni Award," Foundation president Alphonse Paolillo, Jr. said. "Tedy's exceptional results on the football field pale in comparison to the determination, courageousness and passion he has exhibited throughout his life."

A native of Roseville, CA, Bruschi was a standout collegian at the University of Arizona earning All-Pac 10 honors three times under head coach Dick Tomey. A defensive end, Bruschi tied an NCAA career record with 52 quarterback sacks. For his efforts, Bruschi was a two-time Walter Camp All-America selection (1994 and 1995). He earned a bachelor's degree in communications.

Selected by the New England Patriots in the third round of the 1996 NFL Draft, Bruschi went on to play 13 professional seasons and appeared in five Super Bowls - winning three (XXXVI, XXXVIII and XXXIV).

Bruschi was a two-time All-Pro selection (2004 and 2005) and was a Second Team All-Pro honoree in 2004. Days after playing in the 2005 Pro Bowl, Bruschi had a mild stroke and after intense rehabilitation was cleared to resume playing in late October. He was then named the NFL Co-Comeback Player of the Year in 2005. He retired just prior to the 2009 season and joined ESPN as an NFL analyst. Bruschi finished his career with 1,134 tackles, 30.5 quarterback sacks and 12 interceptions.

At ESPN, Bruschi has appeared on NFL Live, SportsCenter, ESPN Radio and other platforms, including Bruschi also remains active in many charitable organizations and founded Tedy's Team, a foundation that raises funds for stroke research. He also authored "Never Give Up: My Stroke, My Recovery, and My Return to the NFL," a book detailing his return to the Patriots. He is also an accomplished saxophonist. Bruschi currently resides in Massachusetts with his wife Heidi and three sons (Tedy Jr., Rex and Dante).

In addition to Bruschi, the Foundation will honor NFL Hall-of-Famer Chuck Bednarik as its Distinguished American and the 2010 Walter Camp Player of the Year and All-America team at the organization's national awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 15, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The Foundation is offering a "Holiday Ticket Promotion" for the National Awards Dinner. Buy two tickets for $400 (you save $150) before December 25. Please call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267) for more information.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American Football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipients
2010 - Tedy Bruschi, Arizona
2009 - David Fulcher, Arizona State
2008 - Tim Brown, Notre Dame
2007 - Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi
2006 - Mike Rozier, Nebraska
2005 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama
2004 - George Rogers, South Carolina
2003 - Mark May, Pittsburgh
2002 - Dave Casper, Notre Dame
2001 - Herschel Walker, Georgia
2000 - Don McPherson, Syracuse
1999 - Bo Jackson, Auburn
1998 - Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh
1997 - Jim Plunkett, Stanford
1996 - Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma
1995 - Jim Covert, Pittsburgh
1994 - Ed Marinaro, Cornell
1993 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State
1992 - Kellen Winslow, Missouri
1991 - Steve Owens, Oklahoma
1990 - Thomas L. Jackson, Lousiville
1989 - Dr. Tom Casanova, Louisiana State
1988 - Alan Page, Notre Dame
1987 - Mike Reid, Penn State
1986 - Joe Greene, North Texas
#OurHouse Rocks Slider
#OurHouse Mini-Plans
Football vs BYU Tickets