Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Lowe, Freshmen to Represent USA Softball
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: September 25, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

OKLAHOMA CITY ?- USA Softball and the Amateur Softball Association announced today the rosters for the 2006 Japan Cup and the 2006 Junior Women’s Pan American Qualifier.


Arizona senior outfielder Caitlin Lowe made the U.S. National Team, while freshmen K’Lee Arredondo and Stacie Chambers were named to the Junior Women’s Pan American Qualifier squad.


Lowe, who has started for the Team USA in each of the last two summers, most recently helped lead the U.S. to the II World Cup of Softball and XI ISF Women’s World Championship titles.


Lowe will not be lonely in Japan, as she will be joined by former Wildcats Jennie Finch, Lovie Jung and Alicia Hollowell.  Arizona head coach Mike Candrea will continue to lead the way for the World Champions.


The Women’s National Team will look to pick up its third gold medal of the season when it travels to Yokohoma, Japan, Nov. 11-17 to compete in the IV Japan Cup.


The Junior Women’s team is slated to compete at the Pan American Qualifier from Nov. 8-18 in Caguas, Puerto Rico.  At the qualifier, Arredondo and Chambers will become the 19th and 20th Wildcats to represent the United States in international competition.


The event will qualify teams from the Pan American region for the VIII Junior Women’s World Championships, scheduled for 2007 in Kutno, Poland.


Both teams were selected by the Women’s National Team Selection Committee, and players recently participated in a four-day selection camp at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif.

Members of the 2006 USA Softball Junior Women’s National Team are:


K’Lee Arredondo (Tempe, Ariz.) Tiffany Huff (Saugus, Calif.)
Ashley Brignac (River Ridge, La.) Donna Kerr (San Diego, Calif.)
Neena Bryant (Placentia, Calif.) Brittany Lastrapes (Laguna Niguel, Calif.)
Stacie Chambers (Glendale, Ariz.) Bianca Meijia (Sylmar, Calif.)
Megan Elliott (Prince Frederick, Md.) Rosey Neill (Laguna Hills, Calif.)
Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz.) Katie Schroeder (Yorba Linda, Calif.)
Alissa Haber (Newark, Calif.) Lindsay Sisk (Murrieta, Calif.
Ashley Hansen (Chandler, Ariz.) Maggie Viefhaus (Pacific, Mo.)
Monica Harrison (Garden Grove, Calif.)


Mississippi State head coach Jay Miller has been named as the head coach for the USA Junior Women’s National Team and will be assisted by three former USA Softball National Team members.


The 18 players selected to the USA Softball Women’s National Team roster for the IV Japan Cup are:


Monica Abbott (Tennessee) Kelly Kretschman (Alabama)
Laura Berg (Fresno State) Lauren Lappin (Stanford)
Crystl Bustos (West Palm Beach C.C.) Caitlin Lowe (Arizona)
Andrea Duran (UCLA) Jessica Mendoza (Stanford)
Jennie Finch (Arizona) Stacey Nuveman (UCLA)
Tairia Flowers (UCLA) Jennie Ritter (Michigan)
Vicky Galindo (Cal) Jamie Southern (Fresno State)
Alicia Hollowell (Arizona) Jenny Topping (Cal State Fullerton)
Lovie Jung (Arizona) Natasha Watley (UCLA)