Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Lowe Named Candidate for Lowe?s Senior CLASS Award
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: April 05, 2007
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ?- Arizona senior center fielder Caitlin Lowe was named one of 20 candidates for the 2007 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the all-new softball division of the award that was originally launched in 2001 in with basketball.


Lowe has led off all but 11 games for Arizona since the beginning of the 2004 season, and boasts a .456 career batting average.  A psychology major from Tustin, Calif., Lowe ranks in the top 10 in program history in five statistical categories including batting average, hits (311, 7th), runs (222, 8th), stolen bases (137, 2nd) and triples (10, 4th).  This year, she is hitting .445 with 37 runs scored and 30 stolen bases.


Candidates were selected based on personal qualities that define the complete student athlete.  While on-the-field performance during their collegiate softball careers is a factor in determining candidates and the eventual winner, their personal character and off-the-field achievements in the classroom and community are major areas of focus.


The list of 20 candidates for the 2007 softball award represents 20 different schools from all around the country, including three nominees from the Pacific 10 Conference. 


Below is a list of the 20 candidates selected:


Mary Kathryn Branan        Georgia State                     2B

Stephanie Brown               Notre Dame                       OF

Mary Jane Callahan           Mississippi                          P/OF

Garland Gooper                Northwestern                     1B

Lindsey Gerheim               Army                                  IF

Kristina Hull                      Georgia Tech                      C/UTL

Dominique Lastrapes         Washington                        2B        

Caitlin Lowe                    Arizona                             OF

Katie Martin                      Missouri State                    OF

Sharonda McDonald         Texas A&M                       OF

Ta’Tyana McElroy            Oregon State                      P

Jamie Reiss                       Creighton                           IF

Jackie Roberts                  Utah Valley State                P/UTL

Lindsay Schutzler              Tennessee                          OF

Cassidy Scoggins              Southern Illinois                  P/OF

Kate Sheaks                     DePaul                               OF

Shelby Steiner                   Middle Tennessee State      SS

Debbie Szalejko                Ohio                                   OF

Panita Thanatharn              Long Beach State               OF/IF