Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Miller Finalist for Soccer Buzz?s Player of the Year
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: November 17, 2005
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

TUCSON, Ariz. ?- Arizona soccer senior Mallory Miller has been name a finalist for Soccer Buzz’s Player of the Year.


Miller is one of fifteen players have been selected as finalists for 2005 National Player of the Year.  The list of fifteen is an expanded group from prior years when twelve finalists were named. Awarded annually since 1996, the 2005 winners will be the tenth recipients recognized by the online magazine devoted exclusively to women's collegiate soccer.

Players from sixteen different teams are among the finalists for the top two honors for the 2005 season. Eight players were named Player of the Year finalists for the second time in their careers, including North Carolina's Heather O'Reilly and Portland's Christine Sinclair who each received their third finalist selection. Of the fifteen Player of the Year finalists, five are international stars including three Canadians.

Portland's three nominations for Player of the Year led all schools as the Pilots garnered four total finalist nominations for both awards, tying UCLA with the most players overall among finalist contenders. With five selections, the ACC was tops among all leagues for Player of the Year finalists. For Freshman of the Year honors, ACC, Big East and Pac-10 schools led the selections with three players each. Seven schools had a finalist named for both Player and Freshman of the Year.

Four teams established program firsts with their nominations: Yale and Mississippi had a finalist named for the first time in any category and Arizona and Texas A&M both had a Player of the Year finalist for the first time after both previously had freshman nominated for the top rookie award.

In 2004, Soccer Buzz named Katie Thorlakson of Notre Dame as National Player of the Year and Lara Dickenmann of Ohio State as National Freshman of the Year.

Winners will be announced in December and decided on a vote open to all 306 Division 1 head coaches and Soccer Buzz staff.


Soccer Buzz Player of the Year Finalists


Sophomore Midfielder Danesha Adams - UCLA

Senior Midfielder Lori Chalupny - North Carolina

Senior Midfielder Sarah Huffman - Virginia

Senior Midfielder Lindsay Huie - Portland

Sophomore Forward Sel Kuralay - Florida State

Sophomore Defender Stephanie Lopez - Portland

Senior Midfielder Mallory Miller - Arizona

Junior Forward Heather O'Reilly - North Carolina

Senior Defender Jill Oakes - UCLA

Junior Midfielder Viola Odebrecht - Florida State

Sophomore Forward Ashlee Pistorius - Texas A&M

Senior Forward Christine Sinclair - Portland

Senior Forward Katie Thorlakson - Notre Dame

Junior Forward Brittany Timko - Nebraska

Senior Forward Tiffany Weimer - Penn State

2016 Soccer Season Tickets
2016 Soccer Season Tickets
Bear Down Challenge Soccer