Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Women's Pac-10 Swimming and Diving Awards announced
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 27, 2004
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

March 27, 2004

Tucson Ariz.- Head coach Frank Busch was named Pac-10 women's swimming coach of the year for the fourth time in his career on Fri. March 26. Busch led the Wildcat women to a third-place finish at the NCAA championships last week where 11 of his swimmers were recognized as All-Americans. At the Pac-10 Championships, Busch coached his team to a third place finish. Busch won the honor in 1991, 1998 and 2000.

Freshman Mary Yarrison was named co-Pac-10 newcomer diver of the year. Yarrison, who shared the honor with Stanford's Cassidy Krug, finished 10th in the platform event at the NCAA Championships contributing 10 points to the Wildcats third-place finish. At the Pac-10 Championships, she finished second in the 1-meter dive and third in both the 3-meter and platform events, respectively.

The Pacific-10 Conference also announced All-Academic Teams in Winter sports for men's and women's swimming and diving. Four Arizona swimmers made the All-Academic first team including senior Jennifer Hess, with an impressive 4.0 grade-point average, sophomore John Collier (3.31), senior Zach Ferguson (3.926),and junior Byron Jeffers (3.784). Junior Jessica Hayes received the second team All-Academic honor for the second year in a row with a 3.478 GPA.

Senior Alex Vollelunga, senior Daniela Bemme, sophomore Jenna Gresdal, junior Emily Mason, sophomore Erin Sieper, and sophomore Marshi Smith earned All-Academic honorable mentions. To be eligible for selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute.

The Arizona men's swimming and diving team will complete the NCAA Championships tonight at 7 p.m. (EST) in Long Island, N.Y. at the at the Nassau County Aquatic Center

Margo Geer P12 WOTY