Greg Byrne's Wildcat Wednesday
Wildcat Soccer Announces Team Awards
By: Arizona Athletics
Release: March 05, 2006
Photo Courtesy: Arizona Athletics
Related Links

Tucson, Ariz. - Head Coach Dan Tobias announced the Arizona women’s soccer awards on Friday. Over the past two seasons, the Wildcat soccer program has earned a Pac-10 Championship and a NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 appearance.


Senior Mallory Miller was given the Academic Excellence Award, the “Golden A” award, the Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year award, and the Most Valuable Player award.


Miller earned the Academic Excellence Award for achieving the highest GPA during the fall playing season.


Miller earned the “Golden A” Award for her individual strong contribution to the success of the team, academic achievement and a strong contribution to the spirit and leadership of the team.


Miller earned the Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year award and the Most Valuable Player award for her record-breaking efforts on the field. She was named the women’s soccer Pac-10 Player of the Year for 2005. She finished the regular season leading the conference in points (39), points per game (2.05), goals (17) and goals per game (0.89). She was also the second All-American in the program’s history as she was a second team selection to the NSCAA/adidas All-American team. Additionally, she broke all 12 season and career records for the Wildcat soccer program. Miller already owned both season and career assists records coming into the 2005 season.


Seniors Kamaya Damwijk, Jennifer Klein and Kelly Nelson were given the Most Inspirational award. Damwijk started 20 of 22 games and contributed three assists the Wildcat attack. Klein started every game for Arizona from the midfield while scoring one goal and one assist. Nelson started 21 games and also contributed one goal and one assist.


Freshman defender Brianna Caceres was given the Rookie of the Year award. Caceres started every game as a defender for the Wildcats.


Freshman Savanah Levake and Sophomore McCall Smith were both given the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year award for their efforts in the back. Levake started 15 games as an outside back for Arizona. Smith started 21 games while earning a goals against average of 1.14 and nine shutouts.


Team Awards


Academic Excellence ?- Mallory Miller

Most Valuable Player ?- Mallory Miller

Most Valuable Player, Offense ?- Mallory Miller

Most Valuable Player, Defense ?- Savanah Levake, McCall Smith

Rookie of the Year ?- Brianna Caceres

Most Inspirational ?- Kamaya Damwijk, Jennifer Klein, Kelly Nelson

2016 Soccer Season Tickets
2016 Soccer Season Tickets
Bear Down Challenge Soccer